If you are facing foreclosure in Connecticut, it’s important to understand some of the basics, including:
- the most common type of foreclosure procedure (judicial v. nonjudicial) used in Connecticut
- how much time you have to respond
- your rights and protections in the process, and
- what happens afterwards (for example, whether you’ll be liable for a deficiency judgment).
Below we have outlined some of the most important features of Connecticut foreclosure law. Keep in mind that this is just a summary; we’ve included statute citations so you can get more details from the laws themselves. And be sure to check out Nolo’s extensive Foreclosure section, where you can find information about all aspects of foreclosure, definitions of foreclosure terms (like redemption and reinstatement), and options to avoid foreclosure.
|Common type of foreclosure process||Judicial: optional strict foreclosure—court can transfer title directly to foreclosing party without ordering a sale.|
|Time to respond||After the foreclosing party files the foreclosure lawsuit, homeowner has 20 to 30 days to respond. Until July 1, 2010, no foreclosure judgment can be entered within 90 days from the return date on the summons and complaint, to allow time for mediation.|
|Reinstatement of loan before sale||No|
|Redemption after sale||If court orders sale, may also set redemption period|
|Special protections for foreclosures involving high-cost mortgages||No laws regarding high-cost mortgages. But certain homeowners who are underemployed or unemployed can ask the court for protection from foreclosure and modification of mortgage terms to give relief from paying of arrearages.|
|Special state protections for service members||Conn. Gen. Stat. § 36a-737|
|Deficiency judgments||May be obtained within 30 days after the redemption period expires.|
|Cash exempted in bankruptcy||About $11,000 for one person, $22,000 for a married couple under federal bankruptcy exemptions|
|Notice to leave after house is sold||None. Judge can order immediate physical removal of former owners.|
|Foreclosure statutes||Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 49-1 to 49-31i|