Summary of Illinois Foreclosure Laws

Here are some of the most important features of Illinois foreclosure law.

If you're facing a foreclosure in Illinois, it’s important to understand some of the basics, including:

  • the most common type of foreclosure procedure (judicial or nonjudicial) used in Illinois
  • how much time you have to respond
  • your rights and protections in the process, and
  • what happens afterwards (like whether you’ll be liable for a deficiency judgment).

Below we have outlined some of the most important features of Illinois foreclosure law. Keep in mind that this is just a summary; we’ve included statute citations so you can get more details from the laws themselves. Keep in mind that statutes change, so checking them is always a good idea. (If you need help finding the statutes, see How to Find the Foreclosure Laws in Your State.) How courts and agencies interpret and apply the law can also change. And some rules can even vary within a state. These are just some of the reasons to consider consulting a lawyer if you’re facing a foreclosure.

And be sure to check out Illinois Foreclosure Laws and Procedures, where you can find detailed information about foreclosure laws in Illinois.

Topic

State Rule

Most common type of foreclosure process

Judicial.

Notice of the foreclosure

Homeowner typically has 30 days to respond after being served with a summons and complaint. After the court issues a judgment of foreclosure, a notice of sale must be published three times between 45 and seven days before sale. Notice of sale must be mailed to borrower at least ten business days before the sale.

Reinstatement of loan before sale

Available within 90 days after the borrower has been served with a summons or by publication, or has otherwise submitted to the jurisdiction of the court. Under High-Risk Home Loan Act, foreclosing party must serve notice of right to reinstate at least 30 days before starting foreclosure lawsuit (see below).

Redemption after sale

Available for seven months after the complaint is served or three months after foreclosure judgment entered, whichever is later. If the mortgage holder is the purchaser at the sale, property sold below a certain value may be redeemed for 30 days after confirmation of sale by paying sales price plus costs and interest.

Special protections for foreclosures involving high-cost mortgages

Special defenses to foreclosure lawsuit. High-Risk Home Loan Act. (See 815 Ill. Comp. Stat. §§ 137/1 to 137/175). Before filing a lawsuit to foreclose, the foreclosing party must send a notice informing the borrower of the right to cure the default within 30 days. (815 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 137/105).

Special state protections for service members

Certain servicemembers may apply to the court for a 90-day stay of foreclosure proceedings or, in some cases, a reduction in the monthly payments for up to 90 days. (735 Ill. Comp. Stat. §§ 5/15-1501.5, 5/15-1501.6). Court can postpone proceedings if state or federal military service directly results in failure to meet pre-service obligations. (330 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 60/5.1).

Deficiency judgments

May be sought as part of the foreclosure lawsuit. Allowed only if borrower is served personally (unless borrower enters an appearance in the action).

Cash exempted in bankruptcy

Using the wildcard exemption, $4,000 for one person, $8,000 for a married couple.

Notice to leave after house is sold

Purchaser is entitled to possession 30 days after the court confirms the sale. New owner must file a complaint for forcible entry and detainer to remove any occupant who wasn’t personally named in the foreclosure case.

Foreclosure statutes

735 Ill. Comp. Stat §§ 5/15-1501 to 5/15-1605.

Talk to a Lawyer

Start here to find foreclosure lawyers near you.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
FACING FORECLOSURE ?

Talk to a Foreclosure attorney.

We've helped 75 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you