Utah Small Claims Court: An Overview
From maximum dollar limits to statutes of limitations, learn the basics about small claims court in Utah.
Need Professional Help? Talk to a Lawyer.
What's the dollar limit for small claims court cases in Utah?
The most you can ask for in a small claims case is $10,000.
Which court hears small claims cases in Utah?
Small claims cases in Utah are heard in the Small Claims Department (District Court).
What is the statute of limitations period for filing a claim in small claims court in Utah?
For information on Utah's statute of limitation periods for claims related to written contracts, oral contracts, injuries, and property damage, see Nolo's 50-state Statutes of Limitations chart.
How long does the defendant have to answer the small claims court complaint?
In Utah, the defendant may file a written answer at least 15 days before trial, but only if a counterclaim ($10,000 max) is being filed. Otherwise, an answer is not required.
Are attorneys allowed in small claims court in Utah?
You are allowed to have an attorney represent you in small claims court in Utah.
Can a landlord bring an eviction lawsuit in small claims court in Utah?
Eviction cases are not allowed in small claims court in Utah, but must be heard by a higher court.
Do I have a right to a jury trial in small claims court in Utah?
In Utah, there is no provision for jury trials.
Where can I get more information about small claims court in Utah?
For more information about Utah small claims court, see www.utcourts.gov/howto/smallclaims.
Nolo's Small Claims Court area has many helpful related articles. For more detailed help with filing a case, using the best strategy in court, and collecting your money if you win, see Everybody's Guide to Small Claims Court, by Attorney Ralph Warner (Nolo).
Updated: October 1, 2015