Louisiana Small Claims Court: An Overview
From maximum dollar limits to statutes of limitations, learn the basics about small claims court in Louisiana.
Need Professional Help? Talk to a Lawyer.
What's the dollar limit for small claims court cases in Louisiana?
The most you can ask for in a small claims case is $5,000 (city court); $5,000 (justice of the peace, but no limit on eviction cases).
Which court hears small claims cases in Louisiana?
Small claims cases in Louisiana are heard in the Justice of the Peace (Rural); otherwise the Small Claims Division (City Court).
What is the statute of limitations period for filing a claim in small claims court in Louisiana?
For information on Louisiana's statute of limitation periods for claims related to written contracts, oral contracts, injuries, and property damage, see Nolo's 50-state Statutes of Limitations chart.
How long does the defendant have to answer the small claims court complaint?
In Louisiana, the defendant must file a written answer within ten days of service (15 days if served by the secretary of state) to avoid default.
Are attorneys allowed in small claims court in Louisiana?
You are allowed to have an attorney represent you in small claims court in Louisiana.
Can a landlord bring an eviction lawsuit in small claims court in Louisiana?
Eviction cases are not allowed in small claims court in Louisiana, but must be heard by a higher court.
Do I have a right to a jury trial in small claims court in Louisiana?
In Louisiana, jury trials are not allowed in small claims court.
Where can I get more information about small claims court in Louisiana?
Nolo's Small Claims Court area has many helpful related articles. For more detailed help with filing a case, using the best strategy in court, and collecting your money if you win, see Everybody's Guide to Small Claims Court, by Attorney Ralph Warner (Nolo).
Updated: October 1, 2015