Timeshare Cancellation Rights & Special Protections: 50-State Chart

Learn how long you have to cancel a timeshare contract and whether you get special protections in each of the 50 states, plus D.C.

If you’re thinking about buying a timeshare, or have already bought one, you can better protect yourself by learning about your state’s timeshare laws. Many states have laws that require specific timeshare contract disclosures, give timeshare purchasers the right to cancel the contract, and provide special protections for buyers when purchasing a timeshare. Below you can learn some key information about timeshare law in each of the 50 states plus the District of Columbia.

Key Aspects of Timeshare Law in Each State

For each state (and D.C.) the timeshare chart will provide the following information:

Can you cancel your timeshare purchase? In some states, if you buy a timeshare and then change your mind, you get a certain amount of time to cancel the purchase.

How long do you have to cancel a timeshare purchase? If you have the right to cancel the timeshare purchase, state law will give you a certain number of days to do so. Typically, the cancellation time frame begins on the date you sign the contract or the date you receive certain disclosures (whichever is later). If state law doesn’t provide you with the right to cancel, the timeshare contract itself may give you a certain number of days to cancel the transaction.

Are there any special protections for buyers when it comes to timeshare purchases? Most states require timeshare sellers to give a prospective purchaser certain disclosures, often in what’s called a public offering statement or a timeshare disclosure statement. State law may also require the timeshare seller to:

  • provide information about the right to cancel
  • fully disclose all details about any promotion used (such as sweepstakes, lodging certificates, or gift awards) to sell timeshares
  • refrain from making any untrue, fraudulent, or misleading statements or advertisements
  • place funds in an escrow account until the closing (or until the buyer cancels the purchase), and/or
  • have a real estate license.

Getting More Information

Learn the details about a particular state’s timeshare law, including disclosure requirements, the right to cancel, and special protections for timeshare purchasers, by clicking on the state link in the first column of the below chart. You can also access Nolo’s Buying or Selling a Timeshare area for general information about timeshare purchases, common timeshare scams, what to look out for when buying a timeshare, and timeshare foreclosures.

State

Right to cancel?

Time to cancel

Special protections?

Alabama

Yes

5 days (not including Sunday if that is the last day) after signing the contract

Yes

Alaska

Sometimes

15 days after receiving the public offering statement (unless the statement is received more than 15 days before signing the contract)

Yes

Arizona

Yes

7 calendar days after signing the contract

No

Arkansas

Yes

5 days after signing the contract or up until receipt of the public offering statement

Yes

California

Yes

7 calendar days after receiving the public report or signing the contract

Yes

Colorado

Yes

5 calendar days after the sale

Yes

Connecticut

Yes

5 calendar days after signing and receiving a copy of the contract or receiving the timeshare disclosure statement

Yes

Delaware

Yes

5 business days after signing the contract

Yes

District of Columbia

Yes

15 days after signing the contract or receiving the public offering statement

Yes

Florida

Yes

10 calendar days after signing the contract or receiving all required documents

Yes

Georgia

Yes

7 days (not including Sundays and holidays) after signing the contract or receiving the public offering statement

Yes

Hawaii

Yes

7 calendar days after signing the contract or receiving the timeshare disclosure statement

Yes

Idaho

Yes

5 calendar days after signing the contract

Yes

Illinois

Yes

5 calendar days after signing the contract or receiving the public offering statement

Yes

Indiana

Yes

72 hours (not including Sundays or legal holidays) after signing the contract

Yes

Iowa

Yes

5 business days after receiving the required disclosures

Yes

Kansas

Yes, if the transaction is a door-to-door sale

3 business days after signing the contract

No

Kentucky

Yes

3 or 5 business days after signing the contract

Yes

Louisiana

Yes

7 days after signing the contract or receiving the public offering statement

Yes

Maine

Yes

10 calendar days after the date of the contract (or conveyance) or receiving the disclosure statement

Yes

Maryland

Yes

10 calendar days after the contract date, receiving the public offering statement, or the date the unit is ready for occupancy

Yes

Massachusetts

Sometimes

3 business days after receiving the public offering statement (unless the statement is received more than 3 days before signing the contract)

Yes

Michigan

Yes

Before the unit is conveyed and 9 business days after receiving all required documents

Yes

Minnesota

Yes

5 days after receiving a copy of the contract and the public offering statement (if project has more than 100 potential sales)

Yes

Mississippi

Yes

7 calendar days after signing the contract or receiving the public offering statement

Yes

Missouri

Yes

5 days after purchase

Yes

Montana

Yes

7 days after signing the contract or receiving the public offering statement

Yes

Nebraska

Yes

3 business days after receiving the public offering statement

Yes

Nevada

Yes

5 calendar days after signing the contract

Yes

New Hampshire

Yes

5 days after the date of the contract or receiving the public offering statement

Yes

New Jersey

Yes

7 days after signing the contract or receiving the public offering statement

Yes

New Mexico

Yes

7 days after signing the contract

Yes

New York

Yes

7 business days after signing the contract

Yes

North Carolina

Yes

5 calendar days after signing the contract

Yes

North Dakota

No (North Dakota does not have a timeshare cancellation law, however the contract may provide a cancellation right)

See contract

Yes

Ohio

Yes, if the transaction is a home solicitation sale

3 business days after signing the contract

Yes

Oklahoma

Yes

5 days after receiving a copy of the signed contract and the public offering statement

Yes

Oregon

Yes

5 calendar days after signing the first written offer or contract to purchase (or, if no cancellation address is provided, until 5 days after the developer provides an address for cancellation purposes)

Yes

Pennsylvania

Sometimes

7 days after receiving the public offering statement (unless the statement is provided more than 7 days before signing the contract)

Yes

Rhode Island

Yes

5 business days (excluding weekends and legal holidays) after signing the contract or receiving all required documents

Yes

South Carolina

Yes

5 days after signing the contract or receiving the disclosure agreement

Yes

South Dakota

Yes

7 calendar days after signing the contract or receiving the disclosure statement

Yes

Tennessee

Yes

Until receipt of the public offering statement; within 10 days after signing the contract (if purchaser made an on-site inspection of the timeshare); or within 15 days after signing the contract (if no on-site inspection was conducted)

Yes

Texas

Yes

6 days after signing the contract (and receiving a copy) or receiving the timeshare disclosure statement

Yes

Utah

Yes

5 business days after signing the contract

Yes

Vermont

Yes, if the transaction is a home solicitation sale

3 business days after signing the contract

Yes

Virginia

Yes

7 calendar days after signing the contract (not including Sunday or a legal holiday, if that is the last day)

Yes

Washington

Yes

7 days after signing the contract or receiving the disclosure statement

Yes

West Virginia

Yes

10 days after signing the contract or receiving the public offering statement

Yes

Wisconsin

Yes

5 days after signing the contract or receiving the timeshare disclosure statement (and all amendments and supplements to the statement)

Yes

Wyoming

Yes, if the transaction is a home solicitation sale

3 business days after signing the contract (so long as the buyer is given a copy of the contract; the name and address for cancellation; and a written statement of cancellation rights -- otherwise cancellation period begins when these items are provided)

Yes

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Real Estate attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you