The most you can ask for in a small claims case is $7,500.
Small claims cases in Oklahoma are heard in the Small Claims Procedure (District Court).
For information on Oklahoma's statute of limitation periods for claims related to written contracts, oral contracts, injuries, and property damage, see Nolo's 50-state Statutes of Limitations chart.
In Oklahoma, the defendant must file a written answer, at least 72 hours before the appearance date, but only if a counterclaim is being filed. Otherwise, an answer is not required.
You are allowed to have an attorney represent you in small claims court in Oklahoma.
No, eviction cases are not allowed in small claims court in Oklahoma.
In Oklahoma, jury trials are not allowed in small claims court unless the claim or counterclaim is more than $1,500. In this situation, either party may demand a jury trial at least two working days before the time set for the defendant's appearance.
For more information about Oklahoma small claims court, see http://oklahomacounty.org/courtclerk/SmallClaims.aspx.
Nolo's Small Claims Court area has many helpful related articles. For more detailed help with filing a case, using the best strategy in court, and collecting your money if you win, see Everybody's Guide to Small Claims Court, by Attorney Ralph Warner (Nolo).
Updated: October 1, 2015