The most you can ask for in a small claims case is $3,000 ($5,000 for claims relating to security deposits); certain landlord-tenant suits cannot be brought.
Small claims cases in New Jersey are heard in the Small Claims Section (Superior Court, Special Civil Part).
For information on New Jersey's statute of limitation periods for claims related to written contracts, oral contracts, injuries, and property damage, see Nolo's 50-state Statutes of Limitations chart.
In New Jersey, the defendant is not required to file a written answer, but any counterclaim must be filed within 35 days of service of the complaint.
You are allowed to have an attorney represent you in small claims court in New Jersey.
Eviction cases are not allowed in small claims court in New Jersey, but must be heard by a higher court.
In New Jersey, jury trials are allowed only if the defendant submits a demand at least five days before the return of summons. The case is then transferred to special civil part.
For more information about New Jersey small claims court, see https://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/prose/10290_small_claims.pdf.
Nolo's Small Claims Court area has many helpful related articles. For more detailed help with filing a case, using the best strategy in court, and collecting your money if you win, see Everybody's Guide to Small Claims Court, by Attorney Ralph Warner (Nolo).
Updated: October 1, 2015