If your property taxes aren’t paid up in Mississippi, the tax collector can sell your home at an auction. However, the person or entity that buys it at the sale doesn’t get ownership of the property or the right to live in the home right away – in fact, you get a few years to get caught up on the overdue amounts before this happens. If you don’t pay off your Mississippi property taxes during this time frame (called a “redemption period”), however, you will have to give up your home.
Find out more below about how tax sales in Mississippi work, how you’ll learn about an upcoming tax sale, how long you get to pay off the delinquent amounts before you lose your home, and more.
Failing to pay your real property taxes in Mississippi can lead to a tax sale. At the tax sale, the tax collector will sell your home at a public auction to the highest bidder (Miss. Code Ann. § 27-41-59). If no one bids on the home, it is “struck off” to the state. This basically means the state gets the property. (If you are having trouble paying your Mississippi property taxes, learn about your options to avoid a tax sale.)
Following the auction, the purchaser gets a receipt, which is sometimes called a tax certificate (Miss. Code Ann. § 27-41-75). At the end of the redemption period (see below), the purchaser can get a tax deed (title) to your home (Miss. Code Ann. § 27-45-23).
Prior to the auction, the tax collector generally must publish a notice of sale in a newspaper for two weeks. In some districts, the notice must be posted on the courthouse door (Miss. Code Ann. § 27-41-55).
In some states, including Mississippi, homeowners who lose their property to a tax sale get a certain amount of time in which to pay off the tax debt and prevent the purchaser from getting title to the home following the sale. This is called the right to redeem the property.
How long you get to redeem the home in Mississippi. In Mississippi, most homeowners get two years after the sale (which is called the “redemption period”) to redeem the home (Miss. Code Ann. § § 27-45-3, 21-33-61). (Learn more about how to redeem your home, including how much it will cost to redeem, in Getting Your Home Back After a Property Tax Sale in Mississippi.)
Notice about your right to redeem. Not more than 180 days and not fewer than 60 days before your right to redeem expires, the court clerk or municipal clerk will send you a notice letting you know that the purchaser will get title to your property if you don’t redeem by the expiration date (Miss. Code Ann. § 27-43-4).
If you want to review the laws that discuss tax sales in Mississippi, go to Titles 21 and 27, § § 21-33-1 through 21-33-91, 27-41-1 through 27-41-89, and 27-45-1 through 27-45-29 of the Mississippi Code at http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/mscode. (For further help in finding the statutes, see Nolo’s Legal Research FAQs & Basic Info area.)