Oregon Car Insurance Requirements

Oregon's mandatory car insurance rules, how coverage will affect a car accident claim, and the penalties for driving without insurance in Oregon.

By , J.D.
Was a police report filed?Step 1 of 8
  • In Oregon, as in every state, car insurance is sure to play a big part in any claim brought after a traffic accident:

    • Oregon, like most states, requires vehicle owners to maintain certain types and amounts of insurance coverage, in case they cause a car accident.
    • Insurance coverage can come into play in a variety of ways after an Oregon car accident, from the settlement process to a lawsuit filed in court.
    • Driving without insurance in Oregon can result in a variety of penalties, and can leave you on the financial hook if you cause a car accident.

    Oregon Is a "Fault" Car Accident State

    Oregon follows a traditional "fault"-based system when it comes to financial responsibility for losses stemming from a car accident: injuries, lost income, vehicle damage, and so on. This means that the person who was at fault for causing the car accident is also responsible for any resulting harm (from a practical standpoint, the at-fault driver's insurance carrier will absorb these losses, up to policy limits).

    What Are My Options for Getting Compensation After an Oregon Car Accident?

    In Oregon, getting compensation for injuries, vehicle damage, and other car accident-related losses usually means proceeding in one of three ways:

    • by filing a claim with your own insurance company, regardless of who caused the crash, under your personal injury protection coverage (for car accident injuries) or under your collision coverage, if you have it (for your vehicle damage).
    • by filing a third-party claim directly with the other driver's insurance company, under their liability coverage, if it's pretty clear that the other driver was at fault for the crash.
    • by filing a personal injury lawsuit in civil court against the other driver. Note that car insurance coverage would still come into play here if one side is ordered to pay "damages" to the other, and the lawsuit could reach a settlement at any point before trial.

    Note: While Oregon is not one of the mandatory no-fault car insurance states—in which claimants must turn to the personal injury protection (PIP) coverage in their own car insurance policy for payment of medical bills and other out-of-pocket losses after an accident—PIP coverage is still required in the state. More on this below.

    Car Insurance Requirements in Oregon

    The required minimum amounts of car insurance in Oregon are:

    • $25,000 liability coverage for bodily injury or death of one person in an accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle
    • $50,000 liability coverage for total bodily injury or death liability in an accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle
    • $20,000 liability coverage for property damage per accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle
    • $15,000 in personal injury protection coverage, per person, and
    • uninsured motorist coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 total per accident.

    So, what do these different coverage requirements mean?

    Liability coverage pays the medical bills, property damage bills, and other costs of drivers, passengers, and pedestrians who are injured or have their vehicle damaged in a car accident you cause, up to coverage limits. You can (and in some situations should) carry more coverage to protect you in case a serious crash results in significant car accident injuries and vehicle damage. Once policy limits are exhausted, you are personally on the financial hook, so higher insurance limits can help protect your personal assets in the event of a serious crash.

    Your liability coverage will kick in if any family member is driving your vehicle, or if you've given someone else permission to use it. It will likely also cover you if you get into an accident in a rental car.

    Remember that liability coverage doesn't apply to your own injuries or vehicle damage after a Oregon car accident. You'll need different (additional) coverage for that if you're involved in a car accident and no one else's coverage applies to your losses. For example, collision coverage (optional in Oregon) can pay for repairs to (or replacement of) your damaged vehicle after a car accident. Note that collision or comprehensive might be required under the terms of a vehicle lease or financing agreement.

    Personal injury protection coverage (or PIP) usually pays medical expenses and certain other out-of-pocket losses after an accident. It normally covers the policyholder and passengers in the policyholder's vehicle (unless they have their own coverage).

    Uninsured motorist (UM) coverage protects you and your passengers if the at-fault driver has no insurance, or if you're injured in a hit and run accident. Keep in mind that UM coverage will not apply to vehicle damage.

    How Do I Show Proof of Car Insurance In Oregon?

    If you're asked to provide proof of car insurance to a law enforcement officer in Oregon (during a traffic stop or after a car accident, for example), you can always present a physical copy of your official insurance card (issued by the company).

    You can also show digital proof of car insurance in Oregon (and in neighboring Washington) by pulling up an official, company-issued electronic version of your insurance card or policy declaration page, or by providing other official digital documentation of your policy details.

    Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Oregon

    If you get caught driving without insurance in Oregon, you could be fined, lose your driving privileges, or have your vehicle towed, depending on the circumstances of the offense.

    If you are convicted of driving without insurance, you will have to file proof of insurance with the state's Driver & Motor Vehicle Services (DMV) for three years. If you are in an accident, and you are uninsured, your driving privileges will likely be suspended for one year.

    Of course, these penalties will likely pale in comparison to the financial hit you could take if you're in a car accident and you don't have car insurance.

    Getting Help After an Oregon Car Accident

    For more details on car insurance in Oregon, check out the Division of Financial Regulation's Auto Insurance 101 page.

    If you've been involved in a car accident in Oregon, you may need more than just the basics on how car insurance works in the state. Especially if you've been injured, it might make sense to discuss your situation, and your options, with an experienced legal professional.

    Learn more about when you might need a car accident lawyer's help, and what to expect from your first meeting with a car accident attorney. And if you're ready to discuss your potential case now, you can use the features right on this page to connect with an Oregon car accident lawyer in your area.

    Make the most of your claim

    Get the compensation you deserve

    We've helped 225 clients find attorneys today.

    How It Works

    1. Briefly tell us about your case
    2. Provide your contact information
    3. Choose attorneys to contact you