50-State Chart of Small Claims Court Dollar Limits

Find the small claims court dollar limits for any state. The limit is the maximum amount you can recover in a small claims court action.

Updated by , Attorney · University of the Pacific McGeorge School of Law

Small Claims Court Limits for the 50 States*

State Dollar Limit

Alabama

$6,000

Alaska

$10,000

Arizona

$3,500

Arkansas

$5,000

California

$10,000 for individuals, except that a plaintiff may not file a claim over $2,500 more than twice a year. Limit for local public entity or for businesses is $5,000. $6,500 is the limit in suits by an individual against a guarantor that charges for its guarantor or surety services. Until February 1, 2025, court may hear claims for COVID-related rental debt of any amount (limit of two filings per year does not apply to such actions).

Colorado

$7,500

Connecticut

$5,000 (landlord-tenant security deposit penalties can exceed $5,000); $15,000 for home improvement contracts

Delaware

$25,000

District of Columbia

$10,000

Florida

$8,000

Georgia

$15,000 (no limit in eviction cases).

Hawaii

$5,000; no limit on landlord-tenant residential security deposit cases. For the return of leased or rented personal property, the property must not be worth more than $5,000.

Idaho

$5,000

Illinois

$10,000

Indiana

$10,000

Iowa

$6,500

Kansas

$4,000

Kentucky

$2,500

Louisiana

$5,000

Maine

$6,000

Maryland

$5,000

Massachusetts

$7,000; no limit for property damage caused by a motor vehicle, some statutory damages and attorney fee awards, and awards of double or triple damages under the Consumer Protection Laws.

Michigan

$7,000

Minnesota

$15,000 ($4,000 for claims involving consumer credit transactions)

Mississippi

$3,500

Missouri

$5,000

Montana

$7,000

Nebraska

$3,900 from July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2025 (adjusted every five years based on the Consumer Price Index)

Nevada

$10,000

New Hampshire

$10,000

New Jersey

$5,000

New Mexico

$10,000

New York

$10,000 in New York City; $5,000 in Nassau County, Western Suffolk County, and City Courts (excluding NYC); $3,000 in Eastern Suffolk County, Town Courts, and Village Courts.

North Carolina

$10,000

North Dakota

$15,000

Ohio

$6,000

Oklahoma

$10,000

Oregon

$10,000

Pennsylvania

$12,000

Rhode Island

$5,000

South Carolina

$7,500

South Dakota

$12,000

Tennessee

$25,000; no limit in eviction suits or suits to recover personal property

Texas

$20,000

Utah

$11,000

Vermont

$5,000

Virginia

$5,000

Washington

$10,000 if brought by natural person; $5,000 all other cases

West Virginia

$10,000

Wisconsin

$10,000; no limit in eviction suits

Wyoming

$6,000

*Check your court's website for any special rules or exclusions.

For the information, tips, and strategies you need to sue someone successfully in small claims court, see Everybody's Guide to Small Claims Court, by Cara O'Neill (Nolo).

We wholeheartedly encourage research and learning, but online articles can't address all issues or the facts of your case, and the law can change. The best way to protect yourself is by hiring a local lawyer.