Oklahoma Car Insurance Requirements and Laws

A look at car insurance laws in Oklahoma, including minimum coverage requirements, penalties for driving without insurance, and more.

By , J.D. | Updated by Stacy Barrett, Attorney
Was a police report filed?Step 1 of 8
  • Updated October 19, 2022

    If you own or drive a vehicle in Oklahoma, here's what you need to know about the state's car insurance laws:

    • You must carry liability insurance to register or drive a vehicle in Oklahoma or show proof of financial responsibility.
    • People who have more than 25 cars registered in Oklahoma may apply for a certificate of self-insurance.
    • You must keep proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times. If a law enforcement officer asks you for proof of insurance and you can't show it, the officer may issue you a ticket.
    • Drivers and owners who don't have proof of insurance or fail to maintain insurance face stiff penalties and lack financial protection if they're involved in an accident.

    Is Oklahoma a "No-Fault" Car Accident State?

    Oklahoma follows a fault-based insurance system. In "fault" states, the driver who is at fault for a car accident has to pay for the other's party's damages, including medical bills, car repairs, lost wages, and pain and suffering.

    At-fault drivers typically rely on liability insurance to pay for damages, which is why Oklahoma law requires car owners and drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance or show proof of financial responsibility.

    Car Insurance Requirements in Oklahoma

    Oklahoma law requires all vehicle owners and drivers to have some form of liability coverage. Drivers and owners have three ways to meet this obligation:

    • a liability car insurance policy
    • filing proof of financial responsibility, or
    • a certificate of self-insurance.

    Liability Insurance

    The minimum amounts of liability insurance required in Oklahoma are:

    • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
    • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and
    • $25,000 per accident for property damage.

    Liability coverage pays for injuries, property damage, and other losses you cause in a car accident, up to coverage limits. For example, if you rear-end another car at a stop sign, your liability coverage will pay for the injuries and damage you cause.

    Your liability coverage will cover anyone named on the policy, most household members, and "permissive users." Permissive users are people who have permission to drive your car. Your liability insurance will also likely cover you if you get into an accident in a rental car.

    (Okla. Stat. § 47-7-103 (2021).)

    Proof of Financial Responsibility

    Most people in Oklahoma purchase car insurance in order to comply with the state's insurance laws, but you can choose to file proof of financial responsibility with the Department of Public Safety (DPS) instead.

    You can either:

    • deposit $75,000 in cash directly with the DPS, or
    • show a valid certificate of deposit of $75,000 issued by an Oklahoma bank or other financial institution.

    The DPS will give you a certificate of deposit as your proof of insurance and use your deposit to pay down a future judgment or claim against you for an accident you cause.

    (Okla. Stat. §§ 47-7-330, 331 (2021).)

    Certificate of Self-Insurance

    People who have more than 25 vehicles registered in their name in Oklahoma may qualify as a self-insurer if they can prove to DPS that they have and will continue to have the ability to pay for car accident-related injuries and property damage they cause.

    (Okla. Stat. § 47-7-503 (2021).)

    Optional Insurance Coverage in Oklahoma

    Your liability insurance doesn't cover your injuries or vehicle damage when you're at fault for an accident. But you can purchase additional coverage. Here are a few examples of optional insurance coverage in Oklahoma.

    Collision Coverage

    A type of car insurance that helps pay to replace or repair your vehicle if it's damaged in an accident with another vehicle or object. You can use collision coverage whether you're at fault for an accident or not. Collision coverage is optional in Oklahoma, but your car loan lender may require you to have it.

    Uninsured Motorist Coverage

    Oklahoma doesn't require car insurance policies to include uninsured motorist (UM) coverage, but insurance companies are required to offer it to anyone purchasing a policy. This coverage protects you and your passengers if you're hit by an uninsured or underinsured driver, or if you're the victim of a hit-and-run driver.

    (Okla. Stat. § 36-3636 (2021).)

    Personal Injury Protection

    Personal injury protection (PIP) or medical payments (MedPay) will cover medical bills for you and your passengers no matter who caused the accident. PIP is typically mandatory in no-fault states and optional in fault states.

    What Are My Options for Getting Compensation After an Oklahoma Car Accident?

    In Oklahoma, you can get compensation for injuries, vehicle damage, and other car accident-related losses by:

    • filing a claim under your own own personal injury protection or collision coverage
    • filing a third-party claim directly with the other driver's insurance carrier if it's pretty clear that the other driver was at fault for the crash, or
    • filing a personal injury lawsuit in civil court against the other driver.

    Proof of Insurance Requirements in Oklahoma

    Oklahoma requires vehicle owners and drivers to carry proof of insurance in their cars. If you're stopped for a traffic violation or involved in an accident, a law enforcement officer may write you a traffic citation if you can't provide proof of insurance.

    Oklahoma's Insurance Commission maintains an insurance verification system (OKIVS) for Oklahoma citizens, vehicle owners, insurers, and government officials, including law enforcement officers.

    Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Oklahoma

    If you get caught driving without insurance in Oklahoma, you can expect penalties, including:

    • fines
    • driver's license suspension
    • administrative fees
    • vehicle impoundment
    • license plate seizure
    • points on your driving record, and
    • up to 30 days in jail.

    As stiff as these penalties are, they pale in comparison to the financial hit you could take if you're in a car accident and you don't have car insurance.

    (Okla. Stat. § 47-7-606 (2021).)

    Getting Help After an Oklahoma Car Accident

    If you've been involved in a car accident in Oklahoma, talk to a lawyer. A lawyer can answer your questions and explain your legal options.

    Learn more about how an attorney can help you with your car accident claim and how to find the right lawyer. When you're ready, you can connect with a lawyer directly from this page for free.

    Make the most of your claim

    Get the compensation you deserve

    We've helped 225 clients find attorneys today.

    How It Works

    1. Briefly tell us about your case
    2. Provide your contact information
    3. Choose attorneys to contact you