Judgment Liens on Property in New Jersey
In New Jersey, a property lien can be used to collect a court judgment. Here's how it works.
Need Professional Help? Talk to a Lawyer.
In a civil court case, after a judge or jury hands down a verdict -- or after a court-approved settlement -- a judgment is entered by the court. As part of a typical judgment, the court orders the payment of money from one person to another. But the person who owes the money (the debtor) doesn't always pay up. A judgment lien is one way to ensure that the person who won the judgment (the creditor) gets what he or she is owed. A judgment lien gives the creditor the right to be paid a certain amount of money from proceeds from the sale of the debtor's property.
So how do judgment liens work in New Jersey? Read on to understand the rules. (For more background information on liens on property and judgments in general, check out Nolo's articles Collect Your Court Judgment with a Real Estate Lien and Can You Collect Your Judgment?)
What kind of property is subject to a judgment lien under New Jersey law?
In every state, a judgment lien can be attached to the debtor's real estate -- meaning a house, condo, land, or similar kind of property interest. And some states also allow judgment liens on the debtor's personal property -- things like jewelry, art, antiques, and other valuables.
In New Jersey, a judgment lien can be attached to real estate only (not personal property).
How does a creditor go about getting a judgment lien in New Jersey?
For claims brought in New Jersey's Law Division, a judgment lien is created automatically on the debtor's present and future property located anywhere in the state. For claims in New Jersey's Special Civil Part (only claims for $15,000 or less can be brought in this court), the creditor must have the judgment docketed in the Law Division first.
How long does a judgment lien last in New Jersey?
A judgment lien in New Jersey will remain attached to the debtor's property (even if the property changes hands) for 20 years.
Keep in mind: In New Jersey, a creditor's ability to collect under a judgment lien will be affected by a number of factors -- including a fixed amount of value that won't be touchable if the property is the debtor's primary residence (called a homestead exemption), other liens that may be in place, and any foreclosure or bankruptcy proceedings. If things get complicated, you may want to talk with an experienced New Jersey bankruptcy and debt attorney to help you sort out any lien issues.
Where can I look up New Jersey law on judgment liens?
If you want to go right to the source and look up New Jersey laws on judgment liens -- maybe you're a party to a judgment, or you're just researching potential encumbrances on property -- the relevant statute(s) can be found at N.J. Stat. Ann. section 2A:14-5, 2A:26-9 to 2A:26-11. For tips on looking up New Jersey state laws, check out Nolo's Laws and Legal Research section.