If your claim for unemployment benefits has been denied in New Jersey, you may think that you’re out of luck. But that’s not necessarily true. In New Jersey, as in all other states, you have the right to appeal a denial of unemployment benefits. If you file an appeal and win, you will receive all benefits to which you are entitled. This includes retroactive benefits: benefits from the time that your application for unemployment should have been accepted.
Denied for Unemployment During the Coronavirus Pandemic? Here's What You Need to Know.
Passed in response to the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, the federal Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act temporarily expands unemployment eligibility (through the end of 2020) to many people who wouldn’t otherwise qualify under state laws. Under the Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) program, which was included in the CARES Act, self-employed individuals, gig workers, and those who don’t have enough work history under their state’s laws will generally qualify for benefits if they’re unable to work for certain reasons related to COVID-19.
If your unemployment claim was denied, and you believe you'd be eligible under the PUA program or your own state’s expanded eligibility rules, your next step will depend on where you live and how your state implements the PUA program. For example, some states might require you to file a separate application to receive benefits under the PUA program. In other states, you might need to receive an unemployment denial before you can be considered for eligibility under the PUA program. And if your claim was denied under your state’s old rules, you might be able to get a second look before you need to file an appeal. In Arizona, for instance, you can ask for a redetermination of your claim based on the latest eligibility requirements.
Wherever you live, it’s important that you keep checking with your state unemployment insurance office for updated information. And if you can’t get through on phone lines or the website keeps crashing, try and try again.
This article explains some common reasons why unemployment claims are denied, how to appeal a denial of unemployment benefits, and how to argue your case. For more information on unemployment benefits in general, see our Collecting Unemployment Benefits page.
You will receive a Notice of Determination letter from the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development (DLWD) if your unemployment claim has been denied. The determination letter will explain why your claim was denied and provide information on the appeals process.
Common reasons why unemployment claims are denied include:
In New Jersey (as in most states), you must have earned a minimum amount in wages from employers who are covered by the state’s unemployment laws (most are), during a 12-month stretch called the “base period." To qualify in New Jersey, you must have worked for at least 20 weeks and earned at least $165 per week; alternatively, you must have earned at least $8,300 during the entire base period.
To collect unemployment, you must be out of work through no fault of your own. So if you quit your job voluntarily, without good cause, you may not receive benefits. In New Jersey, you may have good cause if you quit for a compelling, job-related reason that left you no other choice. You may also have good cause if you quit because of domestic violence or to relocate with your military spouse.
In New Jersey, you are not eligible for benefits if you were fired for misconduct. Misconduct typically goes beyond just being a poor fit or not performing your job well and may include acts of insubordination, excessive absenteeism after warning, and showing up to work under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
To receive benefits, you must look for new work and accept a suitable job if you are offered one. (See Collecting Unemployment Benefits in New Jersey for more information on these eligibility requirements.)
It’s not always worthwhile to appeal a denial of unemployment benefits. For example, if you clearly don’t meet the earnings requirements, there’s no point in wasting your time on an appeal. If, however, it's a close case as to whether you were fired for misconduct, filing an appeal might be a good idea.
If your claim for benefits is denied, you must file an appeal with the New Jersey DWLD Appeal Tribunal within seven days of receiving the determination letter (or ten days from the mailing date on that letter). You may file your appeal in person, by fax, or by mail.
When you file your appeal, make sure to briefly explain, why you believe you should receive benefits. For example, if the decision letter states that you were denied benefits because you were fired from your last job for misconduct, you might state, “Along with several coworkers, I was forced to quit my job when my employer refused to provide us with required safety equipment to work with toxic chemicals.”
Throughout the appeal process, you should file weekly claims for unemployment benefits, look for work, and keep records of your job search, just as you would if your application for benefits had been granted. This may seem like a waste of time, but it’s not. If you win your appeal, you will be entitled to benefits retroactively from when your application should have been accepted – but only if you’ve been following the usual rules to receive benefits.
Once it receives your appeal, the DLWD will schedule an Appeal Tribunal hearing. You will receive a notice of hearing, explaining when and where the hearing will take place and whether it will be in person or by phone.
At the hearing, the agency representative will ask questions, review documents, and make a decision on your appeal. Your employer will also likely attend the hearing and may be represented by an attorney. You may hire an attorney to represent you, too.
You should be prepared to present all of the evidence showing that you should have received unemployment benefits. If there is a dispute over why you were fired, for example, you should submit any documents you have showing that you were not fired for misconduct, such as a separation notice indicating you are being laid off for lack of work. You may also want to present witnesses who can support your side of the story, such as a coworker who was laid off at the same time and was given the same information as you. The hearing notice will explain how to present copies of your documents to the agency representative.
During the hearing, make sure you are ready on time, with your documents and any witnesses you want to present. Make sure to answer all of the agency representative’s questions thoughtfully and carefully. You have the right to question your employer’s witnesses, and your employer (or its representative) has the right to question you and your witnesses. Once all the evidence has been heard, you’ll have a chance to make a closing argument. Make sure you state all of the reasons why you believe you are entitled to benefits.
After the hearing, the Appeal Tribunal will mail a written decision to the parties. If you win your appeal, you don’t have to do anything further.
If you lose your appeal, you can appeal to the Board of Review. The Appeal Tribunal’s decision will include instructions on when and how to file this appeal.
If you disagree with the Board of Review’s decision, you may appeal to the New Jersey Superior Court.
If you are considering an appeal, review the helpful information on the Appeal Rights page of the New Jersey DLWD. It includes deadlines, information on what to include in your appeal, and more.
You may also want to consider hiring an attorney to help you with your appeal. Your employer may have an attorney at the hearing. If so, having a lawyer on your side will help even the odds. An attorney can question witnesses, help you decide what evidence would be most helpful, and present legal arguments about why you should have been awarded unemployment benefits.
However, you’ll have to consider whether the cost of hiring an attorney is worth what you might win in benefits. An attorney should be willing to meet with you for a quick consultation to review your case, explain your chances of winning the appeal, and talk about fees. If you have a strong case and the fees are reasonable, it might make sense to hire a lawyer to represent you.