When Do You Have to Leave Your Home When It's in Foreclosure?
Find out how much time you have to live in your home when foreclosure starts.
States With Long Foreclosure Timelines
The average foreclosure in New Jersey, Indiana, New York, Florida, and Illinois takes longer than foreclosures in other states. Find out why.
How Much Foreclosure Notice Will You Receive?
Find out about the lender's obligation to provide you with notice about a foreclosure.
Timeline for a Judicial Foreclosure
Learn the basic steps and timing in a judicial foreclosure.
Timeline for a Nonjudicial Foreclosure
Learn the basic steps and timing in a nonjudicial foreclosure.
Typical Judicial Foreclosure: Example
Learn the basic steps in a typical judicial foreclosure.
Foreclosure Timeline: After You Miss Your First Payment
Generally, homeowners have to be more than 120 days delinquent before a foreclosure can begin.
Foreclosure Timeline: After You Receive a Formal Notice of Foreclosure
Before you lose your home to a foreclosure sale, you'll get some sort of notice as required by your state’s foreclosure laws.
Foreclosure Timeline: After the Sale
After the foreclosure sale, when a new deed has been recorded with a new owner’s name on it, you go from homeowner to tenant.
Foreclosure Timeline: Getting Notice to Leave
Read about eviction after a foreclosure.
How Soon Can Foreclosure Begin?
Usually, a foreclosure won’t start until you’re more than 120 days behind on payments.
How long do we have to sell our house before foreclosure?
Understanding the lender's timeline after a notice of default.
If we're foreclosed on, when do we actually have to leave our house?
Most states laws give foreclosed-upon homeowners between two and 12 months before they're given a date by to leave.