DUI/DWUI Laws in Wyoming
Laws and penalties for DUI/DWUI in Wyoming.
In Wyoming, you can get a DUI/DWUI if you drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, regardless of whether your driving ability was actually impaired. And the law in Wyoming says that if you are driving a vehicle, you have given consent to submit to a chemical test for the purpose of determining the amount of alcohol in your blood. Here are some details on the consequences of refusing to take a chemical test in Wyoming and other details about Wyoming DUI/DWUI law.
In Wyoming, what are the consequences of refusing to take a chemical test (usually a breathalyzer or blood test) when suspected of DUI/DWUI?
Here are the consequences for not taking a breathalyzer or blood test in Wyoming, broken out by whether this is your first, second, or third offense:
6 month license suspension
18 month license suspension
18 month license suspension
In Wyoming, when do police have to measure your blood alcohol content (BAC)?
In Wyoming, law enforcement officers are supposed to measure your BAC within 2 hours of driving. However, prosecutors may be able to prove your culpability for DUI/DWUI even if your BAC is taken later than this time.
What is the maximum BAC for drivers under 21 in Wyoming?
In Wyoming, the maximum blood alcohol content (BAC) for drivers who are under 21 (considered minors under some drinking and driving laws) is .02%.
What are the minimum jail times for a DUI/DWUI in Wyoming?
Here are the minimum jail times for a DUI/DWUI in Wyoming, broken out by whether this is your first, second, or third offense:
No minimum jail term required
7 days jail
30 days jail
How long will prior DUI/DWUI convictions remain relevant for sentencing purposes in Wyoming?
In Wyoming, prior DUI/DWUI convictions stay on your record (and can be counted against you when you are being sentenced for another DUI/DWI offense) for 10 years.
Can a DUI/DWUI be “pleaded down” to a "wet reckless" in Wyoming?
A defendant might receive a "wet reckless," or a conviction of reckless driving involving alcohol, as a result of a plea bargain in which a charge of drunk driving is reduced to a case of reckless driving. There is no statutory provision on whether a wet reckless plea bargain will be accepted in your state, but it's possible a lawyer may be able to create a plea bargain for you.
If you are interested in contacting a lawyer, you can find a DUI/DWUI lawyer in your area in Nolo's Lawyer Directory.
Are ignition interlock devices (IIDs) required for convicted DUI/DWUI offenders in Wyoming?
Where can I get more information about DUI/DWUI laws in Wyoming?
Nolo's DUI/DWI topic has many helpful articles, including a Drunk Driving, DUI, and DWI FAQ. For more help after a DUI/DWUI arrest, see Nolo's Lawyer Directory, where you can view in-depth profiles of Wyoming DUI/DWUI attorneys in your area.
Last updated on 09/01/2010.