South Carolina DUI Laws and Penalties

The definition of “driving under the influence” and penalties for a DUI conviction in South Carolina.

Facing a DUI? We've helped 115 clients find attorneys today.

There was a problem with the submission. Please refresh the page and try again
Full Name is required
Email is required
Please add a valid Email
Phone Number is required
Please enter a valid Phone Number
Zip Code is required
Please add a valid Zip Code
Description is required
By clicking "Find a Lawyer", you agree to the Martindale-Nolo Texting Terms. Martindale-Nolo and up to 5 participating attorneys may contact you on the number you provided for marketing purposes, discuss available services, etc. Messages may be sent using pre-recorded messages, auto-dialer or other automated technology. You are not required to provide consent as a condition of service. Attorneys have the option, but are not required, to send text messages to you. You will receive up to 2 messages per week from Martindale-Nolo. Frequency from attorney may vary. Message and data rates may apply. Your number will be held in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

You should not send any sensitive or confidential information through this site. Any information sent through this site does not create an attorney-client relationship and may not be treated as privileged or confidential. The lawyer or law firm you are contacting is not required to, and may choose not to, accept you as a client. The Internet is not necessarily secure and emails sent through this site could be intercepted or read by third parties.

South Carolina prohibits a motorist from driving:

A driver is considered "under the influence" of a substance if the driver's faculties to drive a motor vehicle are materially impaired.

DUI Penalties in South Carolina

When a person is convicted of a DUI in South Carolina, the judge will decide the appropriate jail time and fines but is required to stay within certain parameters. (Plea bargaining involves a slightly different process.) These parameters are established by law and relate to the number of prior DUI offenses (out-of-state convictions also count) the driver has within the past ten years.


1st Offense 2nd Offense

3rd Offense

Jail

48 hours to 1 year

5 days to 3 years

60 days to 5 years

Fines

$400 to $1,000

$2,100 to $6,500

$3,800 to $10,000

Jail alternatives. For first-time offenses, the judge can permit community service in lieu of jail time. The amount of community service will equal the time that would have been spent in jail.

Treatment. South Carolina has a substance abuse treatment program called the "Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program" (ADSAP). Program attendees participate in an alcohol and drug evaluation from which a treatment recommendation is made. Completion and enrollment in ADSAP is mandatory for all DUI convictions.

Driver's License Sanctions

First offense. For a first DUI, there's a six-month license suspension. Drivers who are enrolled in ADSAP can generally obtain a temporary provisional license, which permits limited driving. For drivers who refused testing or had a BAC of .15% or greater, a provisional license isn't available, but driving privileges are attainable through the Ignition Interlock Program.

Subsequent offenses. Drivers who are convicted of a second or subsequent DUI are required to enroll in the Ignition Interlock Program. The driver must install an IID on all owned vehicles. Any vehicle not equipped with an IID will be immobilized, meaning the license plate and registration must be surrendered. A second-offense DUI requires two years in the program. A third-offense DUI requires three years participation or four years if the driver had the three DUIs within five years.

.15% or more BAC. Drivers with a BAC of .15% or greater will face an additional one, two, and three-month suspension for a first, second, and third-offense DUI, respectively.

Implied Consent and Refusing a Chemical or Breath Test in South Carolina

South Carolina's "implied consent" laws require all drivers lawfully arrested for a DUI to submit to a breath test. If found to have refused a lawfully-requested test, the court will suspend the driver's license. The driver's license will be suspended for six months for a first occurrence and nine months for a second offense (within a ten-year period). The driver may be eligible for the IID program.

FACING A DUI?
Talk to a DUI Defense attorney
We've helped 115 clients find attorneys today.
There was a problem with the submission. Please refresh the page and try again
Full Name is required
Email is required
Please add a valid Email
Phone Number is required
Please enter a valid Phone Number
Zip Code is required
Please add a valid Zip Code
Description is required
By clicking "Find a Lawyer", you agree to the Martindale-Nolo Texting Terms. Martindale-Nolo and up to 5 participating attorneys may contact you on the number you provided for marketing purposes, discuss available services, etc. Messages may be sent using pre-recorded messages, auto-dialer or other automated technology. You are not required to provide consent as a condition of service. Attorneys have the option, but are not required, to send text messages to you. You will receive up to 2 messages per week from Martindale-Nolo. Frequency from attorney may vary. Message and data rates may apply. Your number will be held in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

You should not send any sensitive or confidential information through this site. Any information sent through this site does not create an attorney-client relationship and may not be treated as privileged or confidential. The lawyer or law firm you are contacting is not required to, and may choose not to, accept you as a client. The Internet is not necessarily secure and emails sent through this site could be intercepted or read by third parties.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you