Both landlords and tenants should be able to deal with many legal questions and problems without a lawyer, once they understand the basics of state law. This overview of key landlord-tenant laws in Colorado will get you started.
Colorado state law does not limit how much landlords may charge for the security deposit. However, it does dictate when it must be returned (within one month after a tenant moves, unless the lease specifies a longer period of time, not to exceed 60 days). Landlords have a shorter amount of time to return deposits in some circumstances, such as hazardous condition involving gas equipment that requires the tenant to move out. The state sets other restrictions on deposits. See Colorado Security Deposit Limits and Deadlines for more on the subject.
Tenants can sue landlords in small claims court for the return of their deposit, up to a dollar amount of $7,500. See Filing a Security Deposit Lawsuit in Colorado Small Claims Court for advice for tenants filing suit. Landlords defending a security deposit lawsuit should check out Colorado Landlord’s Guide to Security Deposit Disputes in Small Claims Court.
State law regulates several rent-related issues, including the amount of notice (at least 10 days in Colorado for month-to-month leases) landlords must give tenants to raise the rent and how much time (three days in Colorado) a tenant has to pay rent or move before a landlord can file for eviction. For details, see Colorado Termination for Nonpayment of Rent and Other Rent Rules.
Tenants may withhold rent if a landlord fails to take care of important repairs, such as a broken heater. For specifics, see Colorado Tenant Rights to Withhold Rent.
State laws specify when and how a landlord may terminate a tenancy. For example, a landlord may give a Colorado tenant who has repeatedly violated any lease clause an unconditional quit notice that forces the tenant to move out immediately. If the tenant does not leave, the landlord can file for eviction. See State Laws on Unconditional Quit Terminations and State Laws on Termination for Violation of Lease for details on these types of termination notices in Colorado.
Several other landlord-tenant laws in Colorado affect both property owners and renters, including:
If you want to read the text of a law itself, such as state security deposit rules, you’ll find citations in many of the articles and charts included in the State Landlord-Tenant Laws section of the Nolo site. To access the statutes, go to the Colorado Laws and Legal Information section of the Nolo site and find the link to your state laws.
If you just want to browse through the Colorado landlord-tenant law, you can find state statutes at Colo. Rev. Stat. § § 38-12-101 to 38-12-104; 38-12-301 to 38-12-302; 38-12-501 to 38-12-511; 13-40-101 to 13-40-123. You can search the table of contents for the landlord-tenant statutes. Or, if you don’t know the exact statute number, you can enter a keyword that is likely to be in it, such as “nonpayment of rent.”
In addition to accessing state laws via Nolo’s website, Colorado statutes are available in many public libraries and in most law libraries that are open to the public (typically found in a county courthouse or at the state capitol or in a publicly-funded law school).
Cities and counties often pass local ordinances, such as health and safety standards, noise and nuisance regulations, and antidiscrimination rules that affect landlords and tenants. Many municipalities have websites —just search for the name of a particular city in Colorado and then do a search when you’re on the site. For example, if you search for the noise ordinance in the City of Denver website, you’ll easily find Denver’s Noise Program.
State and Local Government on the Net and Municode are good sources for finding local governments online. Also, your local public library or office of the city attorney, mayor, or city or county manager can provide information on local ordinances that affect landlords and tenants in Colorado.
While most landlords and tenants will primarily be concerned with state law in Colorado, several federal laws come into play. Congress has enacted laws, and federal agencies, such as the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), have adopted regulations, covering discrimination and landlord responsibilities to disclose environmental health hazards, such as lead-based paint.
The U.S. Code is the starting place for most federal statutory research. It consists of 50 separate numbered titles, each covering a specific subject matter. Most federal regulations are published in the Code of Federal Regulations (“CFR”), also organized by subject into 50 separate titles.
To access the U.S. Code and Code of Federal Regulations online, see Nolo’s Federal Law Resources page. Also, the Cornell Legal Information Institute provides the entire U.S. Code as well as the Code of Federal Regulations. Finally, check USA.gov, the official U.S. website for government information.
Nolo’s Laws and Legal Research page includes links to state and federal laws, explains how to research and understand statutes, and provides advice on finding local ordinances and court cases, including Supreme Court cases. To go further, check out Legal Research: How to Find & Understand the Law, by Stephen Elias and the Editors of Nolo (Nolo). This nontechnical book gives easy-to-use, step-by-step instructions on how to find legal information.