Oklahoma Driving Laws for Seniors and Older Drivers

Learn about driving provisions and special programs focused on keeping both Oklahoma's older drivers and roadways safe.

Most of the myriad rules and regulations enforced by the Oklahoma  Department of Public Safety (DPS)  apply to drivers of all ages and stages—and the state claims it imposes no special rules on drivers based on age alone.

Still, some of the legal controls discussed here, such as possible restrictions on a driver’s license and procedures for securing disability parking placards, may be especially relevant for older drivers.

License Renewal Rules for Older Drivers

Time limits:  All drivers must renew in person every four years.

Vision test:  Required at renewal. DPS personnel will conduct a test free, but if more accurate reports are needed, additional testing from an outside optometrist or ophthalmologist may be required and recorded in a  Visual Screening Report.

Written test:  May be required at the discretion of DPS personnel.

Road test:  May be required at the discretion of DPS personnel.

Possible License Restrictions

The DPS can place restrictions or conditions on a person’s driver license to ensure safe driving. The most common restriction for older drivers is to require glasses or corrective contact lenses.

In Oklahoma, other common requirements the DPS may impose include:

  • driving vehicles equipped with left outsider rear vision mirror
  • driving vehicles with automatic transmission only
  • driving vehicles equipped with turn indicators and power steering
  • having food, fruit or candy within reach of drivers who are insulin-dependent diabetics
  • driving only while wearing prosthetics, and
  • other specific restrictions the DPS may impose in the interest of driver safety.

How to Request an Unsafe Driver Investigation in Oklahoma

The Oklahoma DPS will accept information about a potentially unsafe driver from anyone who has personal knowledge of it, including a family member, doctor, or police officer.

To make such a request, write a letter identifying the driver who is causing the concern, giving specific reasons for making the report, and mail it to:

Oklahoma Department of Public Safety

3600 North Martin Luther King Avenue

Oklahoma City, OK 73111

DPS personnel may then require that a driver be examined by a licensed physician or other medical professional, who must complete and submit a  Medical Examination Form  to the DPS within 60 days of the examination.

How to Get Parking Placards for a Disabled Driver

Disabled person parking placards can be issued to drivers with impaired mobility if a licensed medical practitioner certifies the condition.

The placards and plates are available for those who:

  • cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest
  • cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assisting device
  • are severely restricted by lung disease
  • use portable oxygen
  • have a severe cardiac condition
  • are severely limited in the ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition
  • are legally blind, or
  • are missing one or more limbs.

To obtain a disabled placard or plate:

  • Complete and sign a  Physical Disability Parking Placard Application.
  • Have a licensed physician, surgeon, osteopath, chiropractor, podiatrist, optometrist, or certified advanced registered nurse practitioner complete the second half of the application.
  • Mail the original application to the address on the form.

Learn More About Oklahoma Driving Rules

The  DPS website  includes basic information for Oklahoma drivers, including licensing and vehicle registration requirements. Of special interest is the downloadable “Driver’s Manual,” which includes full explanations of the state’s licensing and vehicle registration requirements, as well as an outline of local rules of the road.

Where to Find a Lawyer for Help

You can use  Nolo’s Lawyer Directory  to find a local lawyer experienced in representing older people who need help with auto accidents or  traffic tickets  in Oklahoma.

Talk to a Disability Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
MAKE THE MOST OF YOUR CLAIM

Get the compensation you deserve.

We've helped 225 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you