Nevada Driving Laws for Seniors and Older Drivers

Learn about driving provisions and special programs focused on keeping both Nevada's older drivers and roadways safe.

The myriad rules and regulations enforced by the Nevada  Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)  apply to drivers of all ages and stages, the state imposes some special requirements and restrictions on older drivers.

Nevada state rules are explained in more detail below, but a number of them focus on identifying and handling older drivers who may have become unsafe.

Specifically, Nevada:

  • requires drivers age 65 and older to renew their licenses in person, and
  • accepts requests from family members, law enforcement, state agencies and other organizations for the DMV to conduct unsafe driver investigations.

License Renewal Rules for Older Drivers

Special rules apply to drivers who are 65 and older who seek to renew their licenses.

Time limits:  Drivers age 65 and older must renew every four years; younger drivers are required to renew in person once every eight years.

Vision  test:  Required at renewal and may be required more frequently at the discretion of DMV or medical personnel. DMV personnel will conduct a test free, or drivers can have an exam performed by an outside physician or optometrist, who must complete an  Eye Examination Certificate  and conduct the exam within 90 days of the renewal request.

Written  test:  May be required based on medical or driving history.

Road  test:  May be required based on medical or driving history.

Possible License Restrictions

The DMV can place restrictions or conditions on a person’s driver license based on medical conditions or history.

The most common restriction for older drivers is to require glasses or corrective contact lenses.

In Nevada, other common requirements the DMV may impose on older drivers include:

  • no freeway driving
  • vehicle must be equipped with automatic transmission
  • an additional right side mirror on a vehicle
  • vehicle must be equipped with a left foot accelerator
  • driving only while wearing a prosthetic device
  • daylight driving only
  • driving speed restricted to 45 mph or less, and
  • wearing telescopic lens when driving.

Licenses may also specify that a vision exam, drive test or medical exam must be conducted every six months or yearly if the driver’s doctor indicates that a medical condition merits it.

How to Request an Unsafe Driver Investigation in Nevada

The Nevada DMV will accept information about a potentially unsafe driver from family members, law enforcement officers and representatives from state agencies and other organizations. DMV representatives may also initiate inquiries on their own.

Concerned relatives  can complete a  Request for Re-Evaluation  describing the driver and their concerns. Their signature must be witnessed by a notary or a DMV representative. And the request must be accompanied by an affidavit from a doctor agrees that the driver should be re-evaluated.

Law enforcement officers or state agency representatives  who have observed a driver and are concerned about his or her unsafe driving should complete a  Request for Re-Examination; such requests need not be accompanied by a doctor’s affidavit.

A DMV representative  who “has good cause to believe” that a driver has any physical or mental disability or disease that may contribute to unsafe driving may require physical or mental examinations and reports by a licensed physician, psychiatrist, psychologist, certified drug and alcohol counselor or any other competent authority to complete a  Confidential Physician’s Report  on that driver.

How to Get a License Reinstated

Requirements for reinstating a license that has been suspended or revoked vary according to the situation. For more information, see “License Suspensions & Revocations.”

How to Get Parking Placards or License Plates for a Disabled Driver

Disabled person parking placards and license plates can be issued to drivers with impaired mobility if a licensed medical practitioner certifies the condition.

The placards and plates are available for those who:

  • cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest
  • cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair or other assistive device
  • have a severe cardiac condition
  • have severe lung disease
  • are severely limited in the ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological or orthopedic condition
  • have a visual disability, or
  • use portable oxygen.

To obtain a disabled placard or plate:

Learn More About Nevada Driving Rules for Seniors

The  DMV website  has a wealth of information for Nevada drivers, including links to the controlling laws and regulations. Of special interest is the  “Driver’s Handbook,”  which includes explanations of licensing and vehicle registration rules and driving safety tips.

Where to Find a Lawyer for Help

You can use  Nolo’s Lawyer Directory  to find a local lawyer experienced in representing older people who need help with  auto accidents  or  traffic tickets  in Nevada.

Talk to a Disability Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more
MAKE THE MOST OF YOUR CLAIM

Get the compensation you deserve.

We've helped 225 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you