Louisiana Driving Laws for Seniors and Older Drivers

Learn about driving provisions and special programs focused on keeping both Louisiana's older drivers and roadways safe.

Updated by , Attorney · University of Arkansas School of Law

While the myriad rules and regulations enforced by the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) apply to drivers of all ages and stages, the state imposes some special requirements and restrictions on older drivers.

Louisiana's rules are explained in more detail below, but a number of them focus on identifying and handling older drivers who may have become unsafe.

Specifically, Louisiana:

  • requires drivers age 70 and older to renew their licenses in person
  • requires a vision test for drivers ages 70 and older renewing in person, and
  • accepts requests from any concerned citizen to conduct an unsafe driver investigation.

License Renewal Rules for Older Drivers in Louisiana

Special rules apply to drivers who are 70 and older who seek to renew their licenses.

Time limits: Drivers age 70 and older must renew in person every six years. Most drivers under age 70 can renew online or by mail if they renewed their license the last time in person and they receive an invitation to renew from the OMV; otherwise, they will need to apply in person at their local OMV office.

Vision test: Required at in-person renewal. OMV personnel will conduct a test free, or drivers can have an exam performed by an outside ophthalmologist or optometrist, who must complete a Medical/Vision Form and conduct the exam within 30 days of the renewal request.

Written test: Required only if there are indications of driver impairment.

Road test: Required only if there are indications of driver impairment.

Possible License Restrictions

The Louisiana OMV can place restrictions on a person's driver's license. The most common restriction for older drivers is to require glasses or corrective contact lenses.

Other common restrictions in Louisiana include:

  • driving a vehicle that has a left outside rearview mirror
  • driving a car equipped with automatic transmission
  • driving a car equipped with power steering
  • driving only when wearing a hearing aid
  • no nighttime driving
  • driving only within a specified radius of home
  • time restrictions
  • hand controls on car, and
  • inside and outside rearview mirrors.

How to Request an Unsafe Driver Investigation in Louisiana

The Louisiana OMV will accept information from any source familiar with a particular driver who completes and files a Report of Driver Condition or Behavior.

In addition, a doctor may report any visual limitation or physical condition, impairment, or disability that may affect a patient's ability to drive safely by completing a Medical Examiner's Certificate.

How to Get a License Reinstated

For information on how to get back a license that has been suspended or revoked, call 225-925-6146, Option 1, or contact one of the local Motor Vehicle Reinstatement Offices located throughout the state.

How to Get Parking Placards or License Plates for a Disabled Driver

Disabled person parking placards and license plates can be issued to drivers with impaired mobility if a licensed medical examiner certifies the condition.

The hang-tags and plates are available for those who:

  • cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest
  • cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive device
  • are restricted by lung disease
  • use portable oxygen
  • have a severe cardiac condition, or
  • are severely limited in the ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition.

Steps required to obtain a disabled placard or plate are:

  • Have a licensed medical examiner, which includes those licensed by the state of Louisiana to practice medicine, chiropractic, physical therapy, or an advanced practice registered nurse complete and sign a Medical Examiner's Certification of Mobility Impairment.
  • Include a fee of $3.
  • Take the original application to any Motor Vehicle office.

Learn More About Louisiana Driving Rules for Seniors

The OMV website offers basic information for Louisiana drivers, including links to download many of the forms required to manage driving issues.

Where to Find a Lawyer for Help

You can use Nolo's Lawyer Directory to find a local lawyer experienced in representing older people who need help with auto accidents or traffic tickets in Louisiana.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
Get Professional Help

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you