Arkansas Small Claims Court: An Overview
From maximum dollar limits to statutes of limitations, learn the basics about small claims court in Arkansas.
Need Professional Help? Talk to a Lawyer.
What's the dollar limit for small claims court cases in Arkansas?
The most you can ask for in a small claims case is $5,000.
Which court hears small claims cases in Arkansas?
Small claims cases in Arkansas are heard in the Small Claims Division (District Court).
What is the statute of limitations period for filing a claim in small claims court in Arkansas?
For information on Arkansas's statute of limitation periods for claims related to written contracts, oral contracts, injuries, and property damage, see Nolo's 50-state Statute of Limitations chart.
How long does the defendant have to answer the small claims court complaint?
In Arkansas, the defendant must file a written answer within 30 days.
Are attorneys allowed in small claims court in Arkansas?
You are not allowed to have an attorney represent you in small claims court in Arkansas.
Can a landlord bring an eviction lawsuit in small claims court in Arkansas?
Eviction cases are not allowed in small claims court in Arkansas, but must be heard by a higher court.
Do I have a right to a jury trial in small claims court in Arkansas?
In Arkansas, jury trials are not allowed in small claims court.
Where can I get more information about small claims court in Arkansas?
For more information about Arkansas small claims court, see https://courts.arkansas.gov/self-help-services.
Nolo's Small Claims Court area has many helpful related articles. For more detailed help with filing a case, using the best strategy in court, and collecting your money if you win, see Everybody's Guide to Small Claims Court, by Attorney Ralph Warner (Nolo).
Updated: October 1, 2015