Vermont Security Deposit Limits and Deadlines
A breakdown of Vermont landlord-tenant laws on security deposits.
Most residential leases and rental agreements in Vermont require a security deposit. This is a dollar amount, usually one month's rent, that's intended to cover damage to the premises beyond normal wear and tear, and to cushion the financial blow if a tenant skips out early on the lease without paying. Here’s a summary of Vermont landlord-tenant laws that cover the use and return of security deposits.
Does Vermont law limit how much a landlord can charge a tenant for a security deposit?
No. In Vermont, there's no statutory limit on security deposits at the state level, but check your city and county laws to see if your municipality has set a cap on security deposits for residential rentals.
To learn more about steps that tenants can take to protect their security deposit after they've paid it, check out Nolo's article Protect Your Security Deposit When You Move In.
What about when a tenant moves out? What is the deadline in Vermont for returning a security deposit?
Under Vermont law, a landlord must return the tenant's security deposit within 14 days after the tenant has moved out, or within 60 days if the rental is seasonal and not intended as a primary residence.
Learn more about tenants' rights and landlords' obligations when it comes to the return of the security deposit in Nolo's chart Cleaning and Repairs a Landlord Can Deduct from a Security Deposit and Nolo's article Get Your Security Deposit Back.
Is there additional information that Vermont landlords must provide to tenants when it comes to security deposits in Vermont?
Not at the state level in Vermont. But be sure to check your local (county, city, or town) laws to see if your municipality requires landlords to take additional steps when it comes to tenants' security deposits.
Where can I look up Vermont law on security deposits?
If you want to go right to the source and look up Vermont law on security deposits -- or if you're writing a letter to your landlord or tenant and want to cite the applicable law -- the relevant statute(s) can be found at Vermont Statutes Annotated Title 9 § 4461. Your city or county might have different landlord-tenant and security deposit laws than those at the state level in Vermont. For tips on looking up Vermont state and local laws, check out Nolo's State Laws & Legal Research section.
For more information on tenant rights in Vermont, see the guide available at http://www.cvoeo.org/fileLibrary/file_99.pdf.