Chart: State Marriage License and Blood Test Requirements

This chart lists requirements for marriage licenses, state by state.

Related Ads

Need Professional Help? Talk to a Lawyer

Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

searchbox small

Here's a summary of each state's laws regarding premarital procedures, including blood tests, waiting periods before marriage, and the like. Because state laws in this area have been changing rapidly -- many states have recently eliminated blood tests, for example -- you should check with your county clerk's office before you rely on these rules. (For more information about marriage procedures, read Nolo's article Marriage Requirements, Licenses, and Ceremonies FAQ.)

State Blood tests required Waiting period between applying for and receiving license How soon you can marry after receiving license When license expires
Alabama No None Immediately 30 days
Alaska No 3 days Immediately 3 months
Arizona No None Immediately 1 year
Arkansas No None Immediately 60 days
California No None Immediately 90 days
Colorado No None Immediately 30 days
Connecticut No None Immediately 65 days
Delaware No None 24 hours 30 days
District of Columbia Yes 3 days Immediately No provision
Florida No 3 days unless couple attends marriage preparation class Immediately 60 days
Georgia No None Immediately No provision
Hawaii No None Immediately 30 days
Idaho No None Immediately No provision
Illinois No None 1 day 60 days
Indiana No None Immediately 60 days
Iowa No None 3 days 6 months
Kansas No 3 days Immediately 6 months
Kentucky No None Immediately 30 days
Louisiana No None 3 days 30 days
Maine No None Immediately 90 days
Maryland No None 2 days 6 months
Massachusetts No 3 days Immediately 60 days
Michigan No 3 days Immediately 33 days
Minnesota No 5 days Immediately 6 months
Mississippi Yes 3 days Immediately No provision
Missouri No None Immediately 30 days
Montana Yes (female) None Immediately 180 days
Nebraska No None Immediately 1 year
Nevada No None Immediately 1 year
New Hampshire No None Immediately 90 days
New Jersey No 72 hours Immediately 30 days
New Mexico No None Immediately No provision
New York No, except sickle cell testing for African-American & Hispanic applicants None 24 hours 60 days
North Carolina No None Immediately 60 days
North Dakota No None Immediately 60 days
Ohio No None Immediately 60 days
Oklahoma No None Immediately 30 days
Oregon No 3 days Immediately 60 days
Pennsylvania No 3 days Immediately 60 days
Rhode Island No None Immediately 3 months
South Carolina No 24 hours Immediately No provision
South Dakota No None Immediately 20 days
Tennessee No None Immediately 30 days
Texas No None 3 days 30 days
Utah No None Immediately 30 days
Vermont No None Immediately 60 days
Virginia No None Immediately 60 days
Washington No 3 days Immediately 60 days
West Virginia No None Immediately 60 days
Wisconsin No 5 days Immediately 30 days
Wyoming No None Immediately No provision

Find a Lawyer

Start here to find family and divorce lawyers near you.

HOW IT WORKS
how it works 1
Briefly tell us about your case
how it works 2
Provide your contact information
how it works 1
Connect with local attorneys
Related Ads
LA-NOLO4:CM1.2.1.20150520.32264+