Iowa Late Fees, Termination for Nonpayment of Rent, and Other Rent Rules
Find out Iowa rent rules, including limits on late fees, notice requirements for rent increases, and notice required for terminating a tenancy for nonpayment of rent.
Your lease or rental agreement should spell out your landlord’s key rent rules, including:
- the amount of rent (there are no limits to how much a landlord can charge in Iowa since there are no communities with rent control in the state)
- where rent is due (such as by mail to the landlord’s business address)
- when rent is due (including what happens if the rent due date falls on a weekend date or holiday)
- how rent should be paid (usually check, money order, cash, and/or credit card)
- the amount of notice landlords must provide to increase rent
- the amount of any extra fee if your rent check bounces, and
- the consequences of paying rent late, including late fees and termination of the tenancy.
State laws in Iowa covers several of these rent-related issues, including limits on late fees, the amount of notice a landlord must provide to increase rent under a month-to-month tenancy, and how much time a tenant has to pay rent or move before a landlord can file for eviction.
Iowa Rules on Late Fees
Rent is legally due on the date specified in your lease or rental agreement (usually the first of the month). If you don’t pay rent when it is due, the landlord may begin charging you a late fee. When rent is $700 per month or less, late fees cannot exceed $12 per day, or a total amount of $60 per month; when rent is more than $700 per month, fees cannot exceed $20 per day or a total amount of $100 per month.
Amount of Notice Iowa Landlords Must Give Tenants to Increase Rent
Iowa landlords must give tenants at least 30 days’ notice (in writing) to increase rent or change another term of a month-to-month rental agreement. If you have a long-term lease, however, landlords may not increase the rent until the lease ends and a new tenancy begins—unless the lease itself provides for an increase.
Rent Increases as Retaliation or Discrimination
Iowa landlords may not raise the rent in a discriminatory manner—for example, only for members of a certain race. Also, Iowa landlords may not use a rent increase in retaliation against you for exercising a legal right—for example, in response to your legitimate complaint to a local housing agency about a broken heater.
Iowa State Laws on Termination for Nonpayment of Rent
States set specific rules and procedures for ending a tenancy when a tenant has not paid the rent. Iowa landlords must give tenants at least three days in which to pay the rent or move. If the tenant does neither, the landlord can file for eviction.
Iowa Guide to Tenant Rights
For an overview of tenant rights when it comes to paying rent under Iowa landlord-tenant law, see http://www.iowafinanceauthority1.com/docs/AAL/ConsumersToolkit/GuideBooks/RentalHandbook.pdf.
Iowa State Laws on Late Fees, Termination for Nonpayment of Rent, and Other Rent-Related Issues
For state rent rules and procedures on issues such as raising rent, see Iowa Code Ann. §§ 562A.9(3), 535.2(7), 562A.34, and 562A.13(5).
For Iowa laws on termination for nonpayment of rent, see Iowa Code Ann. § 562A.27(2).
See the Laws and Legal Research section of Nolo for advice on finding and reading statutes and court decisions.