Unlike many other states, Wisconsin permits—for the most part—motorists to talk on their cellphones while driving. But starting October 1, 2016, Wisconsin drivers will be generally prohibited from using a cellphone—except with a hands-free device—when driving through areas where road construction, maintenance, or utility work is being done. Fines for a violation range from $10 to $40 for a first offense and $50 to $100 for a second violation within a year.
(2015-2016 Wisc. Legis. Serv. Act 308 (2015 A.B. 198); Wis. Stat. Ann. § 346.89(4m) (2016); Wis. Stat. Ann. § 346.95(1) (2016).)