Social Security Adds 25 New Compassionate Allowances for Fast Disability Decisions

Social Security has added 25 new medical conditions to its compassionate allowance list. The compassionate allowance program allows disability applicants who have a diagnosis of a severe or terminal disease to be granted disability benefits right away. This latest addition brings the total number of compassionate allowance conditions to 225.

The new conditions are:


Atypical Teratoid/Rhabdoid Tumor

Chronic Idiopathic Intestinal Pseudo Obstruction

Coffin-Lowry Syndrome


Giant Axonal Neuropathy

Hoyeaal-Hreidarsson Syndrome

Intracranial Hemangiopericytoma

Joubert Syndrome

Leptomeningeal Carcinomatosis

Liposarcoma- metastatic or recurrent

Malignant Ectomesenchymoma

Malignant Renal Rhabdoid Tumor

Marshall-Smith Syndrome

Oligodendroglioma Brain Tumor- Grade III

Pallister-Killian Syndrome

Progressive Bulbar Palsy

Prostate Cancer - Hormone Refractory Disease - or with visceral metastases

Revesz Syndrome

Seckel Syndrome

Sjogren-Larsson Syndrome

Small Cell Cancer of the Thymus

Soft Tissue Sarcoma- with distant metastases or recurrent

X-Linked Lymphoproliferative Disease

X-Linked Myotubular Myopathy

The full list of CAL conditions can be found in Nolo's Guide to Social Security Disability.