Rhode Island Small Claims Court: An Overview
From maximum dollar limits to statutes of limitations, learn the basics about small claims court in Rhode Island.
Need Professional Help? Talk to a Lawyer.
What's the dollar limit for small claims court cases in Rhode Island?
The most you can ask for in a small claims case is $2,500.
Which court hears small claims cases in Rhode Island?
Small claims cases in Rhode Island are heard in the Small Claims Court (District Court).
What is the statute of limitations period for filing a claim in small claims court in Rhode Island?
For information on Rhode Island's statute of limitation periods for claims related to written contracts, oral contracts, injuries, and property damage, see Nolo's 50-state Statutes of Limitations chart.
How long does the defendant have to answer the small claims court complaint?
In Rhode Island, the defendant must file a written answer either before or on date set for answering.
Are attorneys allowed in small claims court in Rhode Island?
You are allowed to have an attorney represent you in small claims court in Rhode Island. Public corporations and private corporations with assets of $1 million or more are required to have attorneys.
Can a landlord bring an eviction lawsuit in small claims court in Rhode Island?
Eviction cases are not allowed in small claims court in Rhode Island, but must be heard by a higher court.
Do I have a right to a jury trial in small claims court in Rhode Island?
In Rhode Island, there is no provision for jury trials.
Where can I get more information about small claims court in Rhode Island?
For more information about Rhode Island small claims court, see http://www.courts.ri.gov/Courts/districtcourt/Pages/Small%20Claims%20Court.aspx.
Nolo's Small Claims Court area has many helpful related articles. For more detailed help with filing a case, using the best strategy in court, and collecting your money if you win, see Everybody's Guide to Small Claims Court, by Attorney Ralph Warner (Nolo).
Updated: October 1, 2015