Wage and Hour Laws in Oregon
Oregon rules on employee overtime, wage and hour law, and fair pay.
What is the minimum wage in Oregon?
The minimum wage in Oregon for most employees is $9.75 per hour as of July 1, 2016. This rate will increase as follows:
- $10.25 on July 1, 2017
- $10.75 on July 1, 2018
- $11.25 on July 1, 2019
- $12 on July 1, 2020
- $12.75 on July 1, 2021, and
- $13.50 on July 1, 2022.
The minimum wage in Portland and certain nonurban counties are different. For a list of minimum wages in these areas, see a minimum wage rate summary by the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries.
Is the minimum wage different in Oregon for tipped employees?
Although the FLSA and the laws of some states allow employers to pay tipped employees a lower minimum wage, Oregon law does not. In Oregon, tipped employees are entitled to the full minimum wage for every hour worked. (For more information, see Nolo’s article Tips, Tip Pooling, and Tip Credits.)
When am I entitled to earn overtime?
In Oregon, eligible employees must receive overtime if they work more than 40 hours in a week. Not every type of job is eligible for overtime, however. To learn more, see Nolo’s article Overtime Pay: Your Rights as an Employee and contact the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries.
Am I entitled to a lunch or rest break?
Yes. Employees in Oregon who work at least six hours are entitled to a meal break of 30 minutes, unpaid if relieved of all duties or paid if employee cannot be relieved of duty. For certain jobs, employees are entitled to a 20-minute paid break, if employer can show that it is industry practice or custom. If the employee's shift is seven hours or less, the meal break must occur between hours two and five; if the shift is longer than seven hours, the meal break must be between hours three and six. Employees are also entitled to a paid ten-minute rest period for each four hours or major fraction worked and, if practical, in the middle of the work period. The rest period must be in addition to the usual meal break and taken separately, and the rest period can't be added to meal period or deducted from beginning or end of shift to reduce length of total work period. The rest period is not required for certain solo adult employees serving the public, although they must be allowed to use the rest room.
To learn more about wage and hour laws in Oregon, contact the state Bureau of Labor and Industries.
What are wage and hour laws?
Wage and hour laws set the basic standards for pay and time worked -- covering issues like minimum wage, tips, overtime, meal and rest breaks, what counts as time worked, when you must be paid, things your employer must pay for, and so on.
Where do wage and hour laws come from?
The federal wage and hour law is called the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Most states also have their own wage and hour laws, and some local governments (like cities and counties) do, too. An employer who is subject to more than one law must follow the law that is most generous to the employee. For example, the federal minimum wage is currently $7.25 per hour, but employers in states that have set a higher minimum wage must pay the higher amount.
Finding an employment law attorney
To locate an employment law attorney in your area, visit Nolo's Lawyer Directory, where you can view information about each lawyer's experience, education, fees, and, perhaps most importantly, the lawyer's general philosophy of practicing law. By using Nolo's directory, you can narrow down candidates before calling them for a phone or face-to-face interview.