North Dakota Small Claims Court: An Overview
From maximum dollar limits to statutes of limitations, learn the basics about small claims court in North Dakota.
Need Professional Help? Talk to a Lawyer.
What's the dollar limit for small claims court cases in North Dakota?
The most you can ask for in a small claims case is $15,000.
Which court hears small claims cases in North Dakota?
Small claims cases in North Dakota are heard in the Small Claims Court (District Court).
What is the statute of limitaitons period for filing a claim in small claims court in North Dakota?
For information on North Dakota's statute of limitation periods for claims related to written contracts, oral contracts, injuries, and property damage, see Nolo's 50-state Statute of Limitations chart.
How long does the defendant have to answer the small claims court complaint?
In North Dakota, the defendant must file a written answer within 20 days of service. Any counterclaim must be filed and served at least 48 hours before the hearing.
Are attorneys allowed in small claims court in North Dakota?
You are allowed to have an attorney represent you in small claims court in North Dakota.
Can a landlord bring an eviction lawsuit in small claims court in North Dakota?
Eviction cases are not allowed in small claims court in North Dakota, but must be heard by a higher court.
Do I have a right to a jury trial in small claims court in North Dakota?
In North Dakota, jury trials are not allowed in small claims court.
Where can I get more information about small claims court in North Dakota?
For more information about North Dakota small claims court, see http://www.ndcourts.gov/court/forms/small/form1.pdf or http://www.ndcourts.gov/court/forms/Small/forms.htm.
Nolo's Small Claims Court area has many helpful related articles. For more detailed help with filing a case, using the best strategy in court, and collecting your money if you win, see Everybody's Guide to Small Claims Court, by Attorney Ralph Warner (Nolo).
Updated: October 1, 2015