Wage and Hour Laws in Minnesota
Minnesota rules on employee overtime, wage and hour law, and fair pay.
Need Professional Help? Talk to a Lawyer.
What is the minimum wage in Minnesota?
The minimum wage in Minnesota is $8 per hour for large employers and $6.50 per hour for small employers. (A small employer is any business with less than $500,000 in gross revenue each year.) However, the federal minimum wage is currently $7.25 per hour. So unless an employee is exempt from federal wage laws, small employers must pay the higher rate of $7.25 per hour.
On August 1, 2015, the Minnesota minimum wage will increase to $9 an hour for large employers and $7.25 for small employers. On August 1, 2016, the rates will increase again to $9.50 for large employers and $7.75 for small employers.
Is the minimum wage different in Minnesota for tipped employees?
Although the FLSA and the laws of some states allow employers to pay tipped employees a lower minimum wage, Minnesota law does not. In Minnesota, tipped employees are entitled to the full minimum wage for every hour worked.
(For more information, see Nolo’s article Tips, Tip Pooling, and Tip Credits.)
When am I entitled to earn overtime?
In Minnesota, eligible employees must receive overtime if they work more than 48 hours in a week. However, under federal law, employees may be entitled to overtime if they work more than 40 hours in a week. Not every type of job is eligible for overtime. To learn more, see Nolo’s article Overtime Pay: Your Rights as an Employee and contact the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry.
Am I entitled to a lunch or rest break?
Yes. Employees in Minnesota are entitled to a meal break of sufficient unpaid time for employees who work eight consecutive hours or more. Employees are also entitled to a paid adequate rest period within each four consecutive hours of work to utilize the nearest convenient rest room.
To learn more about wage and hour laws in Minnesota, contact the state Department of Labor and Industry.
What are wage and hour laws?
Wage and hour laws set the basic standards for pay and time worked -- covering issues like minimum wage, tips, overtime, meal and rest breaks, what counts as time worked, when you must be paid, things your employer must pay for, and so on.
Where do wage and hour laws come from?
The federal wage and hour law is called the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Most states also have their own wage and hour laws, and some local governments (like cities and counties) do, too. An employer who is subject to more than one law must follow the law that is most generous to the employee. For example, the federal minimum wage is currently $7.25 per hour, but employers in states that have set a higher minimum wage must pay the higher amount.
Finding an employment law attorney
To locate an employment law attorney in your area, visit Nolo's Lawyer Directory, where you can view information about each lawyer's experience, education, fees, and, perhaps most importantly, the lawyer's general philosophy of practicing law. By using Nolo's directory, you can narrow down candidates before calling them for a phone or face-to-face interview.
Last updated on 01/01/2012.