How to Obtain an Extension for State Income Tax Returns: 50-State Guide

Learn how to obtain an extension to file state income taxes in every state.

In addition to federal income taxes which are administered by the IRS, 43 states have their own income taxes administered by their own state tax agencies. The seven states without income taxes are Alaska, Florida, Nevada, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, and Wyoming (New Hampshire taxes only dividends and interest).

In most of the 43 states with income taxes, your state income tax return is due on April 15, the same date as your federal return. However, as shown in the chart below, Delaware, Hawaii, Iowa, Louisiana, and Virginia have different filing dates for their income tax returns:

State

Income Tax Return Filing Deadline

Hawaii

April 20

Delaware and Iowa

April 30

Virginia

May 1

Louisiana

May 15

Just as with your federal return, you can obtain an extension of time to file your state income tax return. Each state has its own procedure to obtain an extension. In many states, you’re entitled to an automatic extension, and there is no need to make any filing. In many other states, you receive an automatic extension if you file IRS Form 4868 to obtain a six-month extension of time to file your federal return. There is also no need to file any state form to receive an extension in these states. Some states, however, require you to file a state form with the state tax agency to obtain an extension.

No matter how you obtain an extension of time to file your state income tax return, such an extension does not extend the time for paying your state income tax. These taxes must be paid by the original due date of your state return (April 15 in most states) or you’ll have to pay interest and penalties on the amount due. In some sates, however, you only need to pay 80% or 90% of the tax owed by the due date of your return to avoid interest and penalties. For further information on your state’s requirements, visit your state agency website.

The following chart shows the requirements for obtaining an extension for each state with income taxes.

State

Extension Procedure

Length of Extension

State Tax Agency

Alabama

Automatic

6 months

Alabama Department of Revenue, Business Services

Arizona

File Form 204 by April 15

6 months

Arizona Department of Revenue

Arkansas

Automatic upon obtaining federal extension, or file Form AR1055 by April 15

180 Days

Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration

California

Automatic

6 months

California Franchise Tax Board

Colorado

Automatic

6 months

Colorado Department of Revenue

Connecticut

Automatic upon obtaining federal extension if no balance due; otherwise file Form CT-1040 EXT by April 15

6 months

Connecticut Department of Revenue Services

Delaware

File Form 1027 by April 30

5

Talk to a Tax Attorney

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more
NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Tax attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you