Alaska Small Claims Court: An Overview
From maximum dollar limits to statutes of limitations, learn the basics about small claims court in Alaska.
Need Professional Help? Talk to a Lawyer.
What's the dollar limit for small claims court cases in Alaska?
The most you can ask for in a small claims case is $10,000.
Which court hears small claims cases in Alaska?
Small claims cases in Alaska are heard in the Small Claims Procedure (District Court or Magistrate).
What is the statute of limitations period for filing a claim in Alaska?
For information on Alaska's statute of limitation periods for claims related to written contracts, oral contracts, injuries, and property damage, see Nolo's 50-state Statutes of Limitations chart.
How long does the defendant have to answer the small claims court complaint?
In Alaska, the defendant must file a written answer within 20 days to avoid default.
Are attorneys allowed in small claims court in Alaska?
You are allowed to have an attorney represent you in small claims court in Alaska. A collection agency suing to collect a debt is required to have an attorney.
Can a landlord bring an eviction lawsuit in small claims court in Alaska?
Eviction cases are not allowed in small claims court in Alaska, but must be heard by a higher court.
Do I have a right to a jury trial in small claims court in Alaska?
In Alaska, jury trials are not allowed in small claims court.
Where can I get more information about small claims court in Alaska?
For more information about Alaska small claims court, see www.courts.alaska.gov.
Nolo's Small Claims Court area has many helpful related articles. For more detailed help with filing a case, using the best strategy in court, and collecting your money if you win, see Everybody's Guide to Small Claims Court, by Attorney Ralph Warner (Nolo).
Updated: October 1, 2015