Wyoming Security Deposit Limits and Deadlines
A breakdown of Wyoming landlord-tenant laws on security deposits.
Most residential leases and rental agreements in Wisconsin require a security deposit. This is a dollar amount, usually one month's rent, that's intended to cover damage to the premises beyond normal wear and tear, and to cushion the financial blow if a tenant skips out early on the lease without paying. Here’s a summary of Wisconsin landlord-tenant laws that cover the use and return of security deposits.
Does Wyoming law limit how much a landlord can charge a tenant for a security deposit?
No. In Wyoming, there's no statutory limit on security deposits at the state level, but check your city and county laws to see if your municipality has set a cap on security deposits for residential rentals.
To learn more about steps that tenants can take to protect their security deposit after they've paid it, check out Nolo's article Protect Your Security Deposit When You Move In.
What about when a tenant moves out? What is the deadline in Wyoming for returning a security deposit?
Under Wyoming law, a landlord must return the tenant's security deposit within 30 days after the tenant has moved out if there are deductions for unpaid rent (or within 15 days of receiving the tenant's forwarding address, whichever is later). If there are deductions due to damage to the rental property, the landlord can take an additional 30 days to return the deposit.
Learn more about tenants' rights and landlords' obligations when it comes to the return of the security deposit in Nolo's chart Cleaning and Repairs a Landlord Can Deduct from a Security Deposit and Nolo's article Get Your Security Deposit Back.
Is there additional information that Wyoming landlords must provide to tenants when it comes to security deposits in Wyoming?
Yes. In Wyoming, the lease or rental agreement must state whether any portion of the security deposit is nonrefundable, and the landlord must give the tenant written notice of this fact when collecting the deposit.
Where can I look up Wyoming law on security deposits?
If you want to go right to the source and look up Wyoming law on security deposits -- or if you're writing a letter to your landlord or tenant and want to cite the applicable law -- the relevant statute(s) can be found at Wyoming Statutes §§ 1-21-1207 and 1-21-1208. Your city or county might have different landlord-tenant and security deposit laws than those at the state level in Wyoming. For tips on looking up Wyoming state and local laws, check out Nolo's State Laws & Legal Research section.
You may also find useful information on tenant rights in the guide available at http://www.lawyoming.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/Private-Landlord-Tenant-Laws-FAQ.pdf.