Vermont Small Claims Court: An Overview
From maximum dollar limits to statutes of limitations, learn the basics about small claims court in Vermont.
Need Professional Help? Talk to a Lawyer.
What's the dollar limit for small claims court cases in Vermont?
The most you can ask for in a small claims case is $5,000.
Which court hears small claims cases in Vermont?
Small claims cases in Vermont are heard in the Small Claims Procedure (Superior Court).
What is the statute of limitations period for filing a claim in small claims court in Vermont?
For information on Vermont's statute of limitation periods for claims related to written contracts, oral contracts, injuries, and property damage, see Nolo's 50-state Statutes of Limitations chart.
How long does the defendant have to answer the small claims court complaint?
In Vermont, the defendant is required to respons within 30 days of mailing date by the plaintiff or receipt of service. An answer may include any related counterclaim but judgment can't exceed small claims limits.
Are attorneys allowed in small claims court in Vermont?
You are allowed to have an attorney represent you in small claims court in Vermont.
Can a landlord bring an eviction lawsuit in small claims court in Vermont?
Eviction cases are not allowed in small claims court in Vermont, but must be heard by a higher court.
Do I have a right to a jury trial in small claims court in Vermont?
In Vermont, the defendant may request a jury trial at least one day prior to appearance.
Where can I get more information about small claims court in Vermont?
For more information about Vermont small claims court, see http://www.vermontjudiciary.org/gtc/Civil/smallclaims.aspx.
Nolo's Small Claims Court area has many helpful related articles. For more detailed help with filing a case, using the best strategy in court, and collecting your money if you win, see Everybody's Guide to Small Claims Court, by Attorney Ralph Warner (Nolo).
Updated: October 1, 2015