Vermont Notice Requirements to Terminate a Month-to-Month Tenancy
Find out Vermont rules for how much notice you (and your landlord) must give each other to end a month-to-month tenancy.
It is easy for landlords and tenants to end a month-to-month tenancy in Vermont.
Notice Requirements for Vermont Landlords
In most situations your landlord does not need to give you a reason (although acting on discriminatory or retaliatory motives is illegal). If there is a written rental agreement, the landlord must give 30 days’ notice to tenants who have lived continuously in the unit for two years or less, and 60 days for those who have lived there longer than two years. If there is no written rental agreement, the amount of notice landlords must give is dependent on the length of tenancy. For tenants who have continuously resided in the unit for two years or less, the landlord must give 60 days’ notice. For those who have resided longer than two years, the landlord must give 90 days’ notice.
Your landlord may legally provide less notice if you have not paid rent, if you have violated other terms of your rental agreement (for example, bringing in an unauthorized tenant), or if you have violated basic responsibilities imposed by law (such as by dealing drugs on the rental property).
Notice Requirements for Vermont Tenants
It is equally easy for tenants in Vermont to get out of a month-to-month rental agreement. You must provide one rental period’s notice (unless written agreement says otherwise). Be sure to check your rental agreement which may require that your notice to end the tenancy be given on the first of the month or on another specific date.
In some situations, you may be able to move out with less (or no) notice—for example, if your landlord seriously violates the rental agreement or fails to fulfill legal responsibilities affecting your health or safety.
Vermont State Law and Resources on Terminating a Month-to-Month Tenancy
Check Vermont state law (Vt. Code Ann. tit. 9 §§ 4467, 4456(d)) for the exact rules and procedures for how landlords must prepare and serve termination notices and for any special rules regarding how tenants must provide notice. See the Laws and Legal Research section of Nolo for advice on finding and reading statutes and court decisions.
The state guide to tenants’ rights (see http://www.cvoeo.org/fileLibrary/file_99.pdf) may also have useful information on how month-to-month tenancies end.