Summary of Pennsylvania's Foreclosure Laws

Related Ads

Need Professional Help? Talk to a Lawyer

Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

searchbox small

If you are facing foreclosure in Pennsylvania, it’s important to understand some of the basics, including:

  • the most common type of foreclosure procedure (judicial v. nonjudicial) used in Pennsylvania
  • how much time you have to respond
  • your rights and protections in the process, and
  • what happens afterwards (for example, whether you’ll be liable for a deficiency judgment).

Below we have outlined some of the most important features of Pennsylvania foreclosure law. Keep in mind that this is just a summary; we've included statute citations so you can get more details from the laws themselves. And be sure to check out Nolo’s extensive Foreclosure section, where you can find information about all aspects of foreclosure, definitions of foreclosure terms (like redemption and reinstatement), and options to avoid foreclosure.

Topic

State Rule

Most common type of foreclosure process

Judicial

Time to respond

Before filing a complaint in court, the foreclosing party must serve a 30-day notice of intention to foreclose on homeowner by certified mail and a notice about financial assistance under the Homeowner's Emergency Mortgage Assistance Program. After foreclosing party files foreclosure lawsuit, homeowner has 20 to 30 days to respond. A notice of sale must be posted on the property and served to the borrower at least 30 days before the sale. It must also be published in a newspaper once a week for three weeks.

Reinstatement of loan before sale

Available until one hour before the bidding at the foreclosure sale, but a maximum of three times in one year.

Redemption after sale

Not available

Special protections for foreclosures involving high-cost mortgages

None

Special state protections for service members

National Guard members on active state service (and 30 days thereafter) are exempt from civil process. Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. tit. 51, § 4105

Deficiency judgments

Allowed if foreclosing party files separate lawsuit within six months after sale

Cash exempted in bankruptcy

About $12,725 for one person, $25,450 for a married couple under federal bankruptcy exemptions. $300 ($600 if married filing jointly) under state bankruptcy exemptions.

Notice to leave after house is sold

No special provisions for evictions following foreclosure. New owner will likely have to go to court to get an eviction order.

Foreclosure statutes

Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 35, §§ 1680.402c to 1680.409c;
Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 41, §§ 403 to 404; Pa. R. Civ. P. 1141-1150

Talk to a Lawyer

Start here to find foreclosure lawyers near you.
HOW IT WORKS
how it works 1
Briefly tell us about your case
how it works 2
Provide your contact information
how it works 1
Connect with local attorneys
LA-NOLO4:DRU.1.6.5.20141111.29342