The most you can ask for in a small claims case is $12,000.
Small claims cases in Pennsylvania are heard in the District Justice Court or Philadelphia Municipal Court.
For information on Pennsylvania's statute of limitation periods for claims related to written contracts, oral contracts, injuries, and property damage, see Nolo's 50-state Statutes of Limitations chart.
In Pennsylvania, the defendant must file a counterclaim at least five days before the hearing date (District Justice Court), or at least 10 days before trial date (Philadelphia Municipal Court), but the defendant's counterclaim can't exceed the court's dollar limit.
You are allowed to have an attorney represent you in small claims court in Pennsylvania.
Eviction cases are allowed in small claims court in Pennsylvania.
In Pennsylvania, either party can request a jury trial, and the case will be transferred to district justice court. In Philadelphia Municipal Court, jury trials are not allowed in small claims court except on appeal; also, if the claim is more than $2,000 for personal injury or property damage, the statement of claim must be signed under oath.
For more information about Pennsylvania small claims court, see http://fjd.phila.gov/municipal/civil/ [Philadelphia].
Nolo's Small Claims Court area has many helpful related articles. For more detailed help with filing a case, using the best strategy in court, and collecting your money if you win, see Everybody's Guide to Small Claims Court, by Attorney Ralph Warner (Nolo).
Updated: October 1, 2015