North Dakota Notice Requirements to Terminate a Month-to-Month Tenancy
Find out North Dakota rules for how much notice you (and your landlord) must give each other to end a month-to-month tenancy.
It is easy for landlords and tenants to end a month-to-month tenancy in North Dakota.
Notice Requirements for North Dakota Landlords
In most situations your landlord does not need to give you a reason although acting on a discriminatory motive is illegal. A landlord can simply give you a written notice to move, allowing you 30 days as required by North Dakota law and specifying the date on which your tenancy will end.
Your landlord may legally provide less notice if you have not paid rent, if you have violated other terms of your lease (for example, bringing in an unauthorized tenant), or if you have violated basic responsibilities imposed by law (such as by dealing drugs on the rental property).
Notice Requirements for North Dakota Tenants
It is equally easy for tenants in North Dakota to get out of a month-to-month rental agreement. You must provide the same amount of notice (30 days) as the landlord. (If your landlord has changed the terms of the rental agreement, you may terminate with 25 days’ notice.) Be sure to check your rental agreement which may require that your notice to end the tenancy be given on the first of the month or on another specific date.
In some situations, you may be able to move out with less (or no) notice—for example, if your landlord seriously violates the rental agreement or fails to fulfill legal responsibilities affecting your health or safety.
North Dakota State Law and Resources on Terminating a Month-to-Month Tenancy
Check North Dakota state law (N.D. Cent. Code §§ 47-16-15, 47-16-07) for the exact rules and procedures for how landlords must prepare and serve termination notices and for any special rules regarding how tenants must provide notice. See the Laws and Legal Research section of Nolo for advice on finding and reading statutes and court decisions.
The state guide to tenants’ rights (see http://www.ag.nd.gov/Brochures/FactSheet/TenantRights.pdf) may also have useful information on how month-to-month tenancies end.