The most you can ask for in a small claims case is $7,500.
Small claims cases in New Hampshire are heard in the Small Claims Court (District or Municipal Courts).
For information on New Hampshire's statute of limitation periods for claims related to written contracts, oral contracts, injuries, and property damage, see Nolo's 50-state Statutes of Limitations chart.
In New Hampshire, the defendant may file a written answer within 30 days of the return date given on the summons to avoid default.
You are allowed to have an attorney represent you in small claims court in New Hampshire.
Eviction cases are not allowed in small claims court in New Hampshire, but must be heard by a higher court.
In New Hampshire, jury trials are not allowed in small claims court. The case may, however, be transferred to superior court, if the claim is more than $1,500 and the defendant files the request for a jury trial within five days of the plaintiff's claim.
For more information about New Hampshire small claims court, see http://www.courts.state.nh.us/district/eclaims/index.htm.
Nolo's Small Claims Court area has many helpful related articles. For more detailed help with filing a case, using the best strategy in court, and collecting your money if you win, see Everybody's Guide to Small Claims Court, by Attorney Ralph Warner (Nolo).
Updated: October 1, 2015