Wage and Hour Laws in Nevada
Nevada rules on employee overtime, wage and hour law, and fair pay.
What is the minimum wage in Nevada?
The minimum wage in Nevada is $7.25 per hour if the employer provides health benefits or $8.25 per hour if no health benefits are provided.
Is the minimum wage different in Nevada for tipped employees?
Although the FLSA and the laws of some states allow employers to pay tipped employees a lower minimum wage, Nevada law does not. In Nevada, tipped employees are entitled to the full minimum wage for every hour worked.
(For more information, see Nolo’s article Tips, Tip Pooling, and Tip Credits.)
When am I entitled to earn overtime?
In Nevada, eligible employees must receive overtime if they work more than eight hours in a day if the employee's regular rate of pay is less than one-and-a-half times the applicable minimum wage. Employee must receive overtime if they work more than 40 hours in a week. Not every type of job is eligible for overtime, however. To learn more, see Nolo’s article Overtime Pay: Your Rights as an Employee and contact the Nevada Office of the Labor Commissioner.
Am I entitled to a lunch or rest break?
Yes. Employees in Nevada are entitled to a meal break of 30 minutes for eight continuous hours of work. Employees are also entitled to a paid ten-minute rest period, in the middle of the work period, as practicable, for each four hours or major fraction worked. Rest breaks are not required for employees whose total daily work time is less than three-and-a-half hours.
To learn more about wage and hour laws in Nevada, contact the state Office of the Labor Commissioner.
What are wage and hour laws?
Wage and hour laws set the basic standards for pay and time worked -- covering issues like minimum wage, tips, overtime, meal and rest breaks, what counts as time worked, when you must be paid, things your employer must pay for, and so on.
Where do wage and hour laws come from?
The federal wage and hour law is called the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Most states also have their own wage and hour laws, and some local governments (like cities and counties) do, too. An employer who is subject to more than one law must follow the law that is most generous to the employee. For example, the federal minimum wage is currently $7.25 per hour, but employers in states that have set a higher minimum wage must pay the higher amount.
Finding an employment law attorney
To locate an employment law attorney in your area, visit Nolo's Lawyer Directory, where you can view information about each lawyer's experience, education, fees, and, perhaps most importantly, the lawyer's general philosophy of practicing law. By using Nolo's directory, you can narrow down candidates before calling them for a phone or face-to-face interview.
Last updated on 01/29/2014.