Maryland Small Claims Court: An Overview
From maximum dollar limits to statutes of limitations, learn the basics about small claims court in Maryland.
Need Professional Help? Talk to a Lawyer.
What's the dollar limit for small claims court cases in Maryland?
The most you can ask for in a small claims case is $5,000.
Which court hears small claims cases in Maryland?
Small claims cases in Maryland are heard in the Small Claims Court (District Court).
What is the statute of limitations period for filing a claim in small claims court in Maryland?
For information on Maryland's statute of limitation periods for claims related to written contracts, oral contracts, injuries, and property damage, see Nolo's 50-state Statutes of Limitations chart.
How long does the defendant have to answer the small claims court complaint?
In Maryland, the defendant must file a written answer within 15 days from receipt of summons to file "Notice of Intention to Defend" in order to avoid default (out-of-state defendants have 60 days).
Are attorneys allowed in small claims court in Maryland?
You are allowed to have an attorney represent you in small claims court in Maryland.
Can a landlord bring an eviction lawsuit in small claims court in Maryland?
Eviction cases are allowed in small claims court in Maryland, as long as the rent claimed does not exceed $5,000.
Do I have a right to a jury trial in small claims court in Maryland?
In Maryland, jury trials are allowed if a demand is filed. The case is then transferred to regular civil docket.
Where can I get more information about small claims court in Maryland?
For more information about Maryland small claims court, see www.courts.state.md.us/legalhelp/smallclaims.html.
Nolo's Small Claims Court area has many helpful related articles. For more detailed help with filing a case, using the best strategy in court, and collecting your money if you win, see Everybody's Guide to Small Claims Court, by Attorney Ralph Warner (Nolo).
Updated: October 1, 2015