Maine Notice Requirements to Terminate a Month-to-Month Tenancy

Find out how much advance notice you or the landlord must provide to terminate a rental agreement that runs month-to-month in Maine.

It is easy for landlords and tenants to end a month-to-month tenancy in Maine.

Notice Requirements for Maine Landlords

In most situations your landlord does not need to give you a reason (although acting on discriminatory or retaliatory motives is illegal). A landlord can simply give you a written notice to move, allowing you 30 days as required by Maine law and specifying the date on which your tenancy will end.

Your landlord may legally provide less notice if you have not paid rent, if you have violated other terms of your rental agreement (for example, bringing in an unauthorized tenant), or if you have violated basic responsibilities imposed by law (such as by dealing drugs on the rental property).

Notice Requirements for Maine Tenants

It is equally easy for tenants in Maine to get out of a month-to-month rental agreement.   You must provide the same amount of notice (30 days) as the landlord (unless your rental agreement provides for a shorter amount of notice).  Be sure to check your rental agreement which may require that your notice to end the tenancy be given on the first of the month or on another specific date.

In some situations, you may be able to move out with less (or no) notice—for example, if your landlord seriously violates the rental agreement or fails to fulfill legal responsibilities affecting your health or safety.

Maine State Law and Resources on Terminating a Month-to-Month Tenancy

Check Maine state law (Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 14 § §â

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more
NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Landlord-Tenant attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you