Kansas Driving Laws for Seniors and Older Drivers
Learn about driving provisions and special programs focused on keeping both Kansas's older drivers and roadways safe.
While the myriad rules and regulations enforced by the Kansas Division of Vehicles (DOV) apply to drivers of all ages and stages, the state imposes some special requirements and restrictions on older drivers.
Kansas state rules are explained in more detail below, but a number of them focus on identifying and handling older drivers who may have become unsafe.
- requires drivers age 70 and older to renew their licenses in person
- requires both a vision test and written test for drivers ages 70 and older renewing in person, and
- accepts requests to conduct an unsafe driver investigation
License Renewal Rules for Older Drivers
Special rules apply to drivers who are 70 and older who seek to renew their licenses.
Time limits: Drivers age 65 and older must renew in person every four years; those under 65 must renew every six years.
Vision test: Required at in-person renewal. DMV personnel will conduct a test free, or drivers can have an exam performed by an outside ophthalmologist or optometrist, who must complete a Vision Form and conduct the exam within 90 days of the renewal request.
Written test: Not required at renewal.
Road test: Required only if there are indications of driver impairment.
Possible License Restrictions
Up to four restrictions can be added to a license at the discretion of a doctor or the license examiner.
These may include:
- corrective lenses required
- daylight driving only
- no interstate driving
- no driving outside business area
- driving within city limits only
- mileage restrictions in increments of 5 miles—up to 30 miles total
- outside mirror required; mechanical aid required
- automatic transmission required
- prosthetic aid required, and
- licensed driver in front seat required.
How to Request an Unsafe Driver Investigation in Kansas
For information on how to report a driver who may have become unsafe, contact the DOV’s main office in Topeka.
How to Get a License Reinstated
For information on how to get back a license that has been suspended or revoked in Kansas, contact the Driver Control Bureau.
How to Get Parking Placards or License Plates for a Disabled Driver
Disabled person parking placards and license plates can be issued to drivers with impaired mobility if a licensed doctor of medicine, osteopath, chiropractor, podiatrist, optometrist, physician assistant, advanced registered nurse practitioner, or Christian Science practitioner listed in The Christian Science Journal.
The placards and plates are also available for those who:
- have a severe visual impairment
- cannot walk 100 feet without stopping to rest
- cannot walk without the use of or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive device
- have severe lung disease
- use portable oxygen
- have a severe cardiac condition, or
- are severely limited in their ability to walk at least 100 feet due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition.
Steps required to obtain a disabled placard or plate are:
- Complete and sign a Certification of Disability for Disabled Parking Placard and/or Plate.
- Have a licensed doctor of medicine, osteopath, chiropractor, podiatrist, optometrist, physician assistant, advanced registered nurse practitioner, or Christian Science practitioner listed in The Christian Science Journalcomplete the Healing Arts Licensed Professional’s Statement portion of the application.
- Bring the completed form to the local county treasurer’s motor vehicle office.
Learn More About Kansas Driving Rules for Seniors
The DOV website contains basic information about the state’s driving rules and regulations.
Of special interest is the downloadable “Kansas Driving Handbook,” which includes a section on driving tips for seniors.