Deficiency Judgments After Foreclosure in Missouri
If you go through a foreclosure in Missouri and the foreclosure sale price doesn’t cover the entire debt, your lender may sue you to collect the entire "deficiency."
If you go through a foreclosure in Missouri and the foreclosure sale price doesn’t cover the entire debt, your lender may sue you to collect the entire "deficiency" even if the sale price is less than the property’s fair market value.
Read on to learn what a deficiency judgment is, when your mortgage lender can collect one against you in Missouri, how much the deficiency judgment will be, and what happens to the deficiency in a short sale or a deed in lieu of foreclosure in Missouri.
(For more articles on foreclosure in Missouri, visit our Missouri Foreclosure Law Center.)
What Is a Deficiency After Foreclosure?
When a lender forecloses on a mortgage, the total debt owed by the borrowers to the lender frequently exceeds the foreclosure sale price. The difference between the sale price and the total debt is called a deficiency.
Example. Say the total debt owed is $200,000, but the home only sells for $150,000 at the foreclosure sale. The deficiency is $50,000.
In some states, the lender can seek a personal judgment against the debtor to recover the deficiency. Generally, once the lender gets a deficiency judgment, the lender may collect this amount (in our example, $50,000) from the borrowers by doing such things as garnishing the borrowers’ wages or levying the borrowers’ bank account. (Learn about methods that creditors can use to collect judgments.)
(To learn more about deficiency judgments in the foreclosure context, see our Deficiency Judgments After Foreclosure area.)
Most residential foreclosures in Missouri are nonjudicial, which means the lender does not have to go through state court to get one. On the other hand, sometimes Missouri foreclosures are judicial and go through the state court system. (To learn more about the difference between judicial and nonjudicial foreclosure, and the procedures for each, see Will Your Foreclosure Take Place In or Out of Court?)
Learn more about the Missouri foreclosure process.
Deficiency Judgments Are Allowed in Missouri
In Missouri, deficiency judgments are allowed following the nonjudicial foreclosure sale if the lender files a separate lawsuit. Deficiency judgments are also permitted in judicial foreclosures.
The Amount of the Deficiency
In Missouri, the amount of the deficiency judgment will be the loan balance less the amount paid for the property at the foreclosure sale, even if the sale price is less than the fair market value of the property.
Voiding the Foreclosure Sale Based on Low Sales Price -- Almost Impossible
If the borrower believes the foreclosure sale price was inadequate, he or she can bring an action to void the foreclosure sale.
However, the sale will only be voided if the sale price was so inadequate as compared to the fair market value that it “shocks the conscience” of the court and is in itself evidence of fraud, a standard which was upheld by the Missouri Supreme Court in the case of First Bank v. Fischer & Frichtel, Inc., 364 SW 3d 216 (Mo. 2012). This is a tough burden for a homeowner to overcome. In fact, Missouri’s standard for proving a foreclosure sale “shocks the conscience” is one of the strictest in the country. There is more than one instance of a court refusing to set aside a sale where the property sold for only 20-30% of the fair market value.
Interestingly though, while the First Bank decision ultimately upheld the long-standing standard in Missouri regarding deficiency judgment amounts, it left the door open for potentially revisiting the issue of how to measure a deficiency in the state in the future and, with the right facts and circumstances, perhaps even to changing the standard in Missouri at some point down the line.
Can Lenders of Second Mortgages, HELOCs, and Other Junior Liens Collect From You?
Generally, when a senior lienholder forecloses, any junior liens (these would include second mortgages and HELOCs, among others) are also foreclosed and those junior lienholders lose their security interest in the real estate. If a junior mortgage holder has been sold-out in this manner, that junior mortgage holder can sue you personally on the promissory note. This means that if the equity in your home doesn’t cover second and third mortgages, you may face lawsuits from those lenders to collect the balance of the loans.
Learn more in our article What Happens to Liens and Second Mortgages in Foreclosure?
Deficiency After a Short Sale in Missouri
A short sale is when you sell your home for less than the total debt balance remaining on your mortgage and the proceeds of the sale pay off a portion of the mortgage balance. (Learn more about short sales to avoid foreclosure.)
In Missouri, a lender can get a deficiency judgment following a short sale. To avoid a deficiency judgment, the short sale agreement must expressly state that the lender waives its right to the deficiency. If the short sale agreement does not contain this waiver, the lender may file a lawsuit to obtain a deficiency judgment.
Deficiency After a Deed in Lieu of Foreclosure in Missouri
A deed in lieu of foreclosure occurs when a lender agrees to accept a deed to the property instead of foreclosing in order to obtain title. With a deed in lieu of foreclosure, the deficiency amount is the difference between the fair market value of the property and the total debt. (Learn more about deeds in lieu of foreclosure.)
In Missouri, a lender can get a deficiency judgment following a deed in lieu of foreclosure. To avoid a deficiency judgment with a deed in lieu of foreclosure, the agreement must expressly state that the transaction is in full satisfaction of the debt. If the deed in lieu of foreclosure agreement does not contain this provision, the lender may file a lawsuit to obtain a deficiency judgment against you.
Missouri Foreclosure Law
To find the Missouri statutes that govern foreclosures, go to the Missouri General Assembly’s webpage at www.moga.mo.gov. Click on “MO Statutes” on the left-hand side of the screen and select “View All Statutes” to see the Table of Contents. Look in Chapter 443, §§ 443.290 through 443.453.