Deficiency Judgments After Foreclosure in Arkansas
If you lose your home through foreclosure in Arkansas and the sale price doesn't cover your mortgage, your foreclosing lender can sue you for the "deficiency."
In Arkansas, if you lose your home through foreclosure, that may not be the end of it. If the foreclosure sale price is less than the amount you owed on the mortgage, your foreclosing lender can come after you for the "deficiency."
Read on to learn what a deficiency judgment is, when your mortgage lender can collect one against you in Arkansas, and what happens to the deficiency in a short sale or a deed in lieu of foreclosure in Arkansas.
(For more articles on foreclosure in Arkansas, visit our Arkansas Foreclosure Law Center.)
What Is a Deficiency After Foreclosure?
When a lender forecloses on a mortgage, the total debt owed by the borrowers to the lender frequently exceeds the foreclosure sale price. The difference between the sale price and the total debt is called a deficiency.
Example. Say the total debt owed is $200,000, but the home only sells for $150,000 at the foreclosure sale. The deficiency is $50,000.
In some states, the lender can seek a personal judgment against the debtor to recover the deficiency. Generally, once the lender gets a deficiency judgment, the lender may collect this amount (in our example, $50,000) from the borrowers by doing such things as garnishing the borrowers’ wages or levying the borrowers’ bank account. (Learn about methods that creditors can use to collect judgments.)
(To learn more about deficiency judgments in the foreclosure context, see our Deficiency Judgments After Foreclosure area.)
Arkansas Deficiency Judgments
Most residential foreclosures in Arkansas are nonjudicial, which means the lender does not have to go through state court to get one. (However, sometimes Arkansas foreclosures are judicial and go through the state court system. To learn more about the difference between judicial and nonjudicial foreclosure, and the procedures for each, see Will Your Foreclosure Take Place In or Out of Court?)
Learn more about the Arkansas foreclosure process.
In Arkansas, the lender can sue you for a deficiency judgment following a nonjudicial foreclosure so long as it does so within one year after the foreclosure sale (Ark. Code Ann. § 18-50-112). The deficiency judgment is limited to the lesser of:
- the total debt amount (including interest from the date of sale, costs, and trustee's and attorney's fees) minus the fair market value of the property, or
- the total debt amount minus the foreclosure sale price (Ark. Code Ann. § 18-50-112).
A deficiency judgment is also available if the lender pursues a judicial foreclosure (Ark. Code Ann. § 18-49-105).
Can Lenders of Second Mortgages, HELOCs, and Other Junior Liens Collect From You?
Generally, when a senior lienholder forecloses, any junior liens (these would include second mortgages and HELOCs, among others) are also foreclosed and those junior lienholders lose their security interest in the real estate. If a junior lienholder has been sold-out in this manner, that junior lienholder can sue you personally on the promissory note. This means that if the equity in your home doesn’t cover second and third mortgages, you may face lawsuits from those lenders to collect the balance of the loans.
Learn more in our article What Happens to Liens and Second Mortgages in Foreclosure?
Deficiency After a Short Sale in Arkansas
A short sale is when you sell your home for less than the total debt balance remaining on your mortgage and the proceeds of the sale pay off a portion of the mortgage balance. (Learn more about short sales to avoid foreclosure.)
In Arkansas, a lender can get a deficiency judgment following a short sale. To avoid a deficiency judgment, the short sale agreement must expressly state that the lender waives its right to the deficiency. If the short sale agreement does not contain this waiver, the lender may file a lawsuit to obtain a deficiency judgment.
Deficiency After a Deed in Lieu of Foreclosure in Arkansas
A deed in lieu of foreclosure occurs when a lender agrees to accept a deed to the property instead of foreclosing in order to obtain title. With a deed in lieu of foreclosure, the deficiency amount is the difference between the fair market value of the property and the total debt. (Learn more about deeds in lieu of foreclosure.)
In Arkansas, a lender can get a deficiency judgment following a deed in lieu of foreclosure. To avoid a deficiency judgment with a deed in lieu of foreclosure, the agreement must expressly state that the transaction is in full satisfaction of the debt. If the deed in lieu of foreclosure agreement does not contain this provision, the lender may file a lawsuit to obtain a deficiency judgment against you.
Arkansas Foreclosure Law
To find the Arkansas statutes, go to the Arkansas Legislature’s webpage at www.arkleg.state.ar.us. Click on “Search/View Arkansas Code.” The relevant statutes can be found in Title 18, Subtitle 4, Chapters 49 and 50.