Your lease or rental agreement and Maine state law are the key places to look for answers to this question. Basically, if you pay rent late, you may be hit with a late fee and possibly face the termination of your tenancy. To avoid problems, know when your rent is due and pay it on time.
Read the Rent and Termination Clauses in Your Lease or Rental Agreement
Look for a clause called Payment of Rent, or something similar. Basically, you want to find out the following:
- the date that rent is due—this is usually the first of the month (and this is the date the landlord receives your rent payment, not the date that the envelope with your mailed rent check is postmarked)
- what happens if the first of the month falls on a weekend or holiday (your lease may give you until the next business day to pay rent)
- whether or not you have a grace period before rent is considered late, and
- whether or not your landlord will charge you a late fee (and how much) if you don’t pay rent on time. Landlords in Maine who want to charge a late fee must notify tenants of the late fee in writing, at the start of the tenancy and cannot impose the fee until the rent is 15 days late. And under state law, late fees cannot exceed 4% of the amount due for 30 days. (See Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 14 § 6028).
You’ll also want to check what your lease says regarding the landlord’s right to terminate your entire tenancy if you pay rent late. Unfortunately, many lease and rental agreements don’t spell this out, but simply include a general clause called something like Grounds for Termination of Tenancy, that states that if you fail to comply with a term of your agreement the landlord may terminate your tenancy under rules and procedures required by law. Read on to find out what these rules and procedures are in Louisiana.
Understand Tenant Rights Under Maine Laws on Termination for Nonpayment of Rent
If you have not paid the rent on time, under state law in Maine (Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 14 § 6002), your landlord may send you a nonpayment of rent notice the day after rent is due, giving you at least seven days to pay rent or move; if you do neither, your landlord can file a lawsuit to evict you.
More Information on Tenant Rent Rights in Maine
For details on other Maine rent-related laws, such as the amount of notice a landlord must give to raise the rent, see the Nolo article on Maine rent rules. And if you simply can’t pay rent on time, consider other options, such as trying to negotiate a partial rent payment. See the Nolo article What to Do and Not to Do if You Can’t Pay Rent on Time for advice.