The most you can ask for in a small claims case is $5,000 (except in landlord-tenant security deposit claims).
Small claims cases in Connecticut are heard in the Small Claims (Superior Court).
For information on Connecticut's statute of limitation periods for claims related to written contracts, oral contracts, injuries, and property damage, see Nolo's 50-state Statutes of Limitations chart.
In Connecticut, the defendant must file a written answer on or before the "Answer Date" that appears on the "Notice of Suit." The answer date will be between 15 and 45 days after the writ and accompanying documents are filed in the court.
You are allowed to have an attorney represent you in small claims court in Connecticut. Corporations are required to have an attorney.
Eviction cases are not allowed in small claims court in Connecticut, but must be heard by a higher court.
In Connecticut, jury trials are not allowed in small claims court; the case will be transferred to regular superior court.
For more information about Connecticut small claims court, see www.jud.state.ct.us/faq/smallclaims.html.
Nolo's Small Claims Court area has many helpful related articles. For more detailed help with filing a case, using the best strategy in court, and collecting your money if you win, see Everybody's Guide to Small Claims Court, by Attorney Ralph Warner (Nolo).
Updated: October 1, 2015