Arkansas Notice Requirements to Terminate a Month-to-Month Tenancy

Learn the notice requirements to end a month-to-month tenancy in Arkansas.


It is easy for landlords and tenants to end a month-to-month tenancy in Arkansas.

Notice Requirements for Arkansas Landlords

In most situations your landlord does not need to give you a reason (although acting on discriminatory or retaliatory motives is illegal). A landlord can simply give you a written notice to move, allowing you 30 days as required by Arkansas law and specifying the date on which your tenancy will end.

Your landlord may legally provide less notice if you have not paid rent, if you have violated other terms of your rental agreement (for example, bringing in an unauthorized tenant), or if you have violated basic responsibilities imposed by law (such as by dealing drugs on the rental property).

Notice Requirements for Arkansas Tenants

It is equally easy for tenants in Arkansas to get out of a month-to-month rental agreement.   You must provide the same amount of notice (30 days) as the landlord.  Be sure to check your rental agreement which may require that you give notice on the first of the month or on another specific date.

In some situations, you may be able to move out with less (or no) notice—for example, if your landlord seriously violates the rental agreement or fails to fulfill legal responsibilities affecting your health or safety.

Arkansas State Law and Resources on Terminating a Month-to-Month Tenancy

Check Arkansas state law (Ark. Code Ann. §â

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more
NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Landlord-Tenant attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you