DUI/OUI Laws in Alaska

Learn the facts and penalties about DUI/OUI in Alaska.

In Alaska, you can get a DUI/OUI if you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher within four hours of driving or being in physical control of a vehicle, regardless of whether your driving ability was actually impaired. However, you can also get a DUI/OUI for driving or being in physical control of a vehicle while impaired if the prosecution shows that—as the result of ingesting alcohol, drugs, or inhalants, or any combination of these—you were incapable of driving “with the caution characteristic of a person of ordinary prudence who is not under the influence.” And the law in Alaska says that if you are driving a vehicle, you have given consent to submit to a chemical test for the purpose of determining the amount of alcohol in your blood. Here are some details on the consequences of refusing to take a chemical test in Alaska and other details about Alaska DUI/OUI law.

In Alaska, what are the consequences of refusing to take a chemical test (usually a breathalyzer or blood test) when suspected of DUI/OUI?

Here are the consequences for not taking a breathalyzer or blood test in Alaska, broken out by whether this is your first, second, or third offense:

1st offense

2nd offense

3rd offense

3 days jail; mandatory ignition interlock device; fines up to $1,500

20 days jail; mandatory ignition interlock device; fines up to $3,000

20 days jail; mandatory ignition interlock device; fines up to $3,000

In Alaska, when do police have to measure your BAC?

In Alaska, law enforcement officers are supposed to measure your BAC within four hours of driving. However, prosecutors may be able to prove your culpability for DUI/OUI even if your BAC is taken later than this time.

What is the maximum BAC for drivers under 21 in Alaska?

In Alaska, the maximum BAC for drivers who are under 21 (considered minors under some drinking and driving laws) is 0%. Alaska is a "zero tolerance" state.

What are the minimum jail times for a DUI/OUI  in Alaska?

Here are the minimum jail times for a DUI/OUI  in Alaska, broken out by whether this is your first, second, or third offense:

1st offense

2nd offense

3rd offense

3 days jail

20 days jail

60 days jail

How long will prior DUI/OUI convictions remain relevant for sentencing purposes in Alaska?

In Alaska, prior DUI/OUI  convictions stay on your record (and can be counted against you when you are being sentenced for another DUI/OUI offense) for good.

Can a DUI/OUI  be “pleaded down” to a "wet reckless" in Alaska?

In Alaska, it's possible for someone who's accused of operating under the influence to "plea bargain" for a lesser charge. When such a plea deal is for a reckless driving charge, it's sometimes called a "wet reckless."

(Read more about plea bargaining in an Alaska OUI case and the consequences of a reckless driving conviction.)  

Are ignition interlock devices (IIDs) required for convicted DUI/OUI  offenders in Alaska?

Yes, for all convictions, including first offenses.

Where can I get more information about DUI/OUI  laws in Alaska?

Nolo's DUI/DWI topic has many helpful articles, including a Drunk Driving, DUI, and DWI FAQ. For more help after a DWI arrest, see Nolo's Lawyer Directory, where you can view in-depth profiles of Alaska DWI attorneys in your area.

For more information about the legal limit, see the  Blood Alcohol Level Chart

Last updated on 09/01/2010.

Protect Yourself. Talk to a Lawyer About Your Case

Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
FACING A DUI?

Talk to a DUI Defense attorney

We've helped 115 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you